Publishing Partner: Cambridge University Press CUP Extra Publisher Login

The LINGUIST List is dedicated to providing information on language and language analysis, and to providing the discipline of linguistics with the infrastructure necessary to function in the digital world. LINGUIST is a free resource, run by linguistics students and faculty, and supported by your donations. Please support LINGUIST List during the 2017 Fund Drive.

E-mail this page

Conference Information

Full Title: 18th Workshop on the Semantics and Pragmatics of Dialogue

Short Title: SemDial
Location: Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Start Date: 01-Sep-2014 - 03-Sep-2014
Contact: Verena Rieser
Meeting Email: click here to access email
Meeting URL:
Meeting Description: DialWatt will be the 18th edition of the SemDial workshop series, which aims to bring together researchers working on the semantics and pragmatics of dialogue in fields such as formal semantics and pragmatics, computational linguistics, artificial intelligence, philosophy, psychology, and neuroscience.

In 2014, the workshop will be hosted by the Interaction Lab (, Heriot-Watt University. DialWatt will be collocated with RO-MAN 2014 ( summer school in Psychological and Computational Models of Language Production ( and the world famous Edinburgh festival take place just before DialWatt. (

Technical Programme Chairs:

Verena Rieser (Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh)
Philippe Muller (Université Paul Sabatier, Toulouse)

Local Organisation:

Arash Eshghi (general chair)
Mary Ellen Foster (local organiser)
Andy Taylor (web admin)

Programme Committee:

Nicholas Asher, Timo Baumann,Luciana Benotti, Nate Blaylock, Holly Branigan, Valeria De Paiva, David Devault, Arash Eshghi, Raquel Fernández, Victor Ferreira, Kallirroi Georgila, Jonathan Ginzburg, Eleni Gregoromichelaki, Markus Guhe, Pat Healey, Anna Hjalmarsson, Amy Isard, Simon Keizer, Ruth Kempson, Alexander Koller, Pierre Lison, Staffan Larsson, Alex Lascarides, Colin Matheson, Gregory Mills, Chris Potts, Laurent Prévot, Matthew Purver, Hannes Rieser, David Schlangen, Gabriel Skantze, Amanda Stent, Matthew Stone, David Traum, Nigel Ward [further committee members tba]

SemDial Board Chairs:

Raquel Fernandez (University of Amsterdam)
David Schlangen (Bielefeld University)
Linguistic Subfield: Computational Linguistics; Pragmatics; Semantics
LL Issue: 25.1085

Calls and Conferences main page