LINGUIST List 11.1300

Fri Jun 9 2000

Books: Sociolinguistics

Editor for this issue: Scott Fults <scottlinguistlist.org>


Links to the websites of all LINGUIST's supporting publishers are available at the end of this issue.

Directory

  1. Laura Driussi, Socioling: The Language War, Robin Tolmach Lakoff

Message 1: Socioling: The Language War, Robin Tolmach Lakoff

Date: Fri, 9 Jun 2000 10:39:46 -0700
From: Laura Driussi <laura.driussiucpress.ucop.edu>
Subject: Socioling: The Language War, Robin Tolmach Lakoff


NEW FROM THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA PRESS

Robin Tolmach Lakoff

The Language War

Hardcover: 0-520-21666-0; x, 322 pp.; $24.95.

Using recent news events, Lakoff (University of California, Berkeley)
demonstrates how the struggle for power and status at the end of the
century is being played out as a war over language. Written for the
general reader and for students as well as for fellow linguists, the
book bridges the work of the linguistic scholar with that of the
cultural analyst.

"Provocative, dazzlingly argued essays. . . . Lakoff shines in her
careful reading of how declarative sentences paraded as questions in
the Hill/Thomas hearings or of how jokes about 'Hebonics' (the
Jewish-American language) underlined the unspoken racism in the
media's attack on ebonics."
 - Publishers Weekly Forecasts, starred review

Visit http://www.ucpress.edu/books/pages/8870.html to see the table of
contents and to view a full chapter, "Hillary Rodham Clinton: What the
Sphinx Thinks."


University of California Press
2120 Berkeley Way
Berkeley, CA 94720

Tel: 510-643-1036
Fax: 510-643-7127

http://www.ucpress.edu/
Mail to author|Respond to list|Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue
Pubs-postscript-html

----------------- Major Supporters ----------------

Academic Press http://www.academicpress.com

Arnold Publishers http://www.arnoldpublishers.com

Athelstan Publications http://www.athel.com

Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/

Cambridge UP -USA http://www.cup.org

Cascadilla Press http://www.cascadilla.com/

Elsevier Science Ltd. http://www.elsevier.nl/

John Benjamins http://www.benjamins.com/

Kluwer Academic Publishers http://www.wkap.nl/

Lernout & Hauspie http://www.lhsl.com

Lincom Europa http://www.lincom-europa.com

MIT Press http://mitpress.mit.edu/books-legacy.tcl

Mouton de Gruyter http://www.deGruyter.de/hling.html

Multilingual Matters http://www.multilingual-matters.com/

Oxford UP http://www.oup-usa.org/

Routledge http://www.routledge.com/

St. Jerome Publishers http://www.mcc.ac.uk/stjerome


---------Other Supporting Publishers-------------

Finno-Ugrian Society http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/sus/

Graduate Linguistic Students' Assoc., Umass http://www.umass.edu/linguist/GLSA/

IULC Publications http://www.indiana.edu/~iulc/

Kingston Press Ltd. http://www.kingstonpress.com

Linguistic Assoc. of Finland http://www.ling.helsinki.fi/sky/

Linguistic Society of Southern Africa (LSSA) http://www.safest.org.za/bsp

Orientalia et Africana Gothoburgensia http://orient218.orient.gu.se/afrikanska/afrpubl.html

Pacific Linguistics http://pacling.anu.edu.au

U. of Antwerp, Dept of Germanic Languages http://apil-www.uia.ac.be/apil

U. of Arizona Press http://www.uapress.arizona.edu

U. of Huelva http://www.philologia.uhu.es

U. of Marburg & Max Hueber Verlag http://staff-www.uni-marburg.de/~introlin/

Utrecht Institute of Linguistics http://www-uilots.let.uu.nl/

Vaxjo: Acta Wexionesia

Virittaja Aikakauslehti http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/kks/virittaja.html
First Previous Next Last