LINGUIST List 12.2352

Sun Sep 23 2001

Confs: Natural Language Processing/Tokyo, Japan

Editor for this issue: Marie Klopfenstein <>

Please keep conferences announcement as short as you can; LINGUIST will not post conference announcements which in our opinion are excessively long.


  1. Jing-Shin Chang, [NLPRS-2001] 1st Call for Participation

Message 1: [NLPRS-2001] 1st Call for Participation

Date: Sun, 23 Sep 2001 13:44:52 +0800 (CST)
From: Jing-Shin Chang <>
Subject: [NLPRS-2001] 1st Call for Participation

- ----------------------------------------------------------------------
 1st C a l l f o r P a r t i c i p a t i o n

 * NLPRS-2001 *

 6th Natural Language Processing Pacific Rim Symposium

 Sponsored by NLPRS Organization, Japan
 Co-Sponsored by The Association for Natural Language Processing, Japan
 Supported by SIG-NLP of Information Processing Society Japan, Japan

 27-30 November, 2001
 Tokyo, Japan


6th Natural Language Processing Pacific Rim Symposium (NLPRS-2001) will
be held at National Center of Science located in the central part of
Tokyo from 27th to 30th November, 2001.

Four excellent invited talks and 45 highly qualified technical papers,
etc. will be presented. You can find the newest academic and
technological results of natural language processing and its future
direction by attending NLPRS-2001.

 * Julia Hirschberg (AT&T Labs-Research) 
 "Audio Browsing and Search in the Voicemail Domain"

 * Benjamin K. Tsou (City University of Hong Kong, HongKong)
 "Corpus, Information Mining and the New Global Village"

 * Sadaoki Furui (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
 "From Read Speech Recognition to Spontaneous Speech Understanding"

 * Sanda M. Harabagiu (UPenn, Philadelphia)
 "Just-in-Time Textual Question Answering"


- ------
Three days of: - four invited talks ( shown above )
 - 45 papers of oral presentations
 - 26 posters
 - 21 project note ( 6 with demo )
 - one panel discussion 
One day of the following four workshops.

 * The Second Workshop on Natural Language Processing and Neural Networks
 * Workshop on Language Resources in Asia
 * Automatic Paraphrasing: Theories and Applications
 * NLP and XML

Exhibits and Demonstrations of NLP technologies during 27th - 29th November

University of Tokyo, Utsunomiya University
(More industrial Exhibits and Demonstrations are expected)

See the Program page at

Registration and Accomodation:
- ----------------------------
Early registration is possible until October 20. Registration fee of
NLPRS-2001 conference (excluding workshops) is 20,000yen (almost 190

After that date the registration fee will be higher. 
Registration fee for one workshop is 3,000yen (almost 27 USD).

Please register online using web pages at

At the web site you can also find information about accomodation and
other relevant information. Since hotel capaity is limited, please
make reservations soon.

NLPRS-2001 Organization:
- -------------------
General Chair:
 Jun-ichi Tsujii (University of Tokyo, Japan) 

Programme Chair:
 Keh-Yih Su (Behavior Design Corperation, Taiwan) 

Local Organizing Committee Chair:
 Hiroshi Nakagawa (University of Tokyo, Japan) 

Programme Committee:
- ------------------
Ananiadou, Sophia (University of Salford, UK)
Asanee, Kawtrakul (Kasetsart Univ., Thailand)
Boitet, Christian (CLIPS-GETA, France)
Chang, Jason S. (National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan)
Chang, Jing-Shin (National Chi-Nan Univ., Taiwan)
Chen, Hsin-Hsi (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
Chen, Keh-Jiann (IIS, Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
Church, Kenneth (AT&T Labs-Research, USA)
Dale, Robert (Language Technology Group Pty Ltd, Australia)
Dong, Zhendong (Chinese Information Processing Society of China, China)
Estival, Dominique (Syrinx Speech Systems, Australia)
Hovy, Eduard (USC Information Sciences Institute, USA)
Huang, Chu-Ren (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
Inui, Kentaro (Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan)
Ishizaki, Masato (Japan Advanced Inst. of Science & Technology, Japan)
Kageura, Kyo (National Institute of Informatics, Japan)
Kashioka, Hideki (ATR-SLT / NAIST, Japan)
Kurohashi, Sadao (Kyoto University, Japan)
Lee, Gary Geunbae (Pohang University of Science and Technology, Korea)
Lee, Yong-seok (Conbuk National University, Korea)
Li, Hang (Microsoft Research China, China)
Lin, Dekang (University of Alberta, Canada)
Lua, Kim-Teng (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
Macklovitch, Elliott (Universite de Montreal, Canada)
Molla Aliod, Diego (Macquarie University, Australia)
Myaeng, Sung Hyon (Chungnam National University, Korea)
Nagata, Masaaki (NTT Cyber Space Laboratories, Japan)
Ng, Hwee Tou (DSO National Laboratories, Singapore)
Ock, Cheol-Young (Univ. of Ulsan, Korea)
Okumura, Manabu (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
Palmer, Martha (Univ. Penn, USA)
Park, Jong Cheol (KAIST, Korea)
Park, Sangkyu (Linguistic Engineering Department, ETRI, Korea)
Pustejovsky, James (Brandeis Univ., USA)
Ra, Dong-Yul (Yonsei University, Korea)
Resnik, Philip (University of Maryland, USA)
Rim, Hae-Chang (Korea University, Korea)
Riza, Hammam (BPP Teknologi, Indonesia)
Sangal, Rajeev (Indian Institute of Information Technology, India)
Sarkar, Anoop (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
Seo, Jungyun ( Inc., Korea)
Sornlertlamvanich, Virach (NECTEC, Thailand)
Sproat, Richard (AT&T Labs-Research, USA)
Sun, Maosong (Tsinghua University, China)
Swen, Bing (ICL, Peking University, China)
Tanaka, Kumiko (University of Tokyo, Japan)
Tokunaga, Takenobu (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
Tsou, Benjamin K. (City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
Uchimoto, Kiyotaka (Communications Research Laboratory, Japan)
Uszkoreit, Hans (University of Saarbruecken, Germany)
Vossen, Piek (Irion, Netherlands)
Wilks, Yorick (University of Sheffield, UK)
Wu, Dekai (HKUST, Human Language Technology Center, Hong Kong)
Wu, Lide (Fudan University, Shanghai, China)
Yusoff, Zaharin (Universiti Sains Malaysia, Malaysia)
Zhou, Joe F (Intel China Research Center, Beijing, China)
Zhou, Ming (Microsoft Research, Beijing, China)

Local Organization Commitee:
- --------------------------
Hiroshi Nakagawa (University of Tokyo)
Jun-ichi Tsujii (University of Tokyo)
Kyo Kageura (National Institue of Informatics) 
Koh-ich Takeuchi (National Institue of Informatics) 
Kumiko Tanaka (University of Tokyo) 
Sadao Kurohashi (University of Tokyo)
Takenobu Tokunaga (Tokyo Institute of Technology) 
Manabu Okumura (Tokyo Institute of Technology) 
Tatsunori Mori (Yokohama National University) 
Yoshihiko Hayashi (NTT) 
Toru Hisamitsu (Hitachi) 
Fumihito Nishino (Fujitsu) 
Koh-ichi Takeda (IBM Japan) 
Akitoshi Okumura (NEC) 
Naoyuki Nomura (Hosei University and Justsystem)
Hidetaka Masuda (Tokyo Denki University)
Takashi Ninomiya (University of Tokyo)
Mail to author|Respond to list|Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue