LINGUIST List 12.359

Mon Feb 12 2001

Books: Modality

Editor for this issue: Naomi Ogasawara <naomilinguistlist.org>


Links to the websites of all LINGUIST's supporting publishers are available at the end of this issue.

Directory

  1. Joyce Reid, Modality by F.R. Palmer

Message 1: Modality by F.R. Palmer

Date: 12 Feb 2001 10:26:50 +0800
From: Joyce Reid <jreidqmny.cup.org>
Subject: Modality by F.R. Palmer

Modality
Second Edition
F.R. Palmer, University of Reading,UK

Since the publication of F. R. Palmer's Mood and Modality in 1986,
when the topic of "modality" was fairly unfamiliar, there has been
considerable interest in the subject as well as in grammatical
typology in general. Modality is concerned with mood (subjunctive
etc.) and with modal markers such as English modal verbs (can, may,
must etc.) and is treated as a single grammatical category found in
most of the languages of the world. Palmer investigates this category,
drawing on a wealth of examples from a wide variety of languages.

Contents:
1. Introduction; 
2. Modal systems: propositional modality; 
3. Modal systems: event modality; 
4. Modal systems and modal verbs; 
5. Indicative and subjunctive; 
6. Realis and Irrealis; 
7. Subjunctive and Irrealis; 
8. Past tense as modal.

Cambridge Textbooks in Linguistics
2001/259 pp.
80035-8/Hb/List: $64.95
80479-5/Pb/List: $22.95


http://www.cambridge.org
Mail to author|Respond to list|Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue
Pubs-postscript-html  
----------------- Major Supporters ---------------- 
Arnold Publishers http://www.arnoldpublishers.com
Athelstan Publications http://www.athel.com
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Cascadilla Press http://www.cascadilla.com/
John Benjamins http://www.benjamins.com/
http://www.benjamins.nl/
Kluwer Academic Publishers http://www.wkap.nl/
Lernout & Hauspie http://www.lhsl.com
Lincom Europa http://www.lincom-europa.com
MIT Press http://mitpress.mit.edu/books-legacy.tcl
Mouton de Gruyter http://www.deGruyter.de/hling.html
Multilingual Matters http://www.multilingual-matters.com/
Oxford UP http://www.oup-usa.org/
Rodopi http://www.rodopi.nl/
Summer Institute of Linguistics http://www.sil.org/
---------Other Supporting Publishers-------------
Finno-Ugrian Society http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/sus/
Graduate Linguistic Students' Assoc., Umass http://www.umass.edu/linguist/GLSA/
Kingston Press Ltd. http://www.kingstonpress.com
Linguistic Assoc. of Finland http://www.ling.helsinki.fi/sky/
Pacific Linguistics http://pacling.anu.edu.au
Pacini Editore Spa http://www.pacinieditore.it/
Virittaja Aikakauslehti http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/kks/virittaja.html
Tuesday, February 06, 2001