LINGUIST List 12.360

Mon Feb 12 2001

Books: Lexicography

Editor for this issue: Naomi Ogasawara <naomilinguistlist.org>


Links to the websites of all LINGUIST's supporting publishers are available at the end of this issue.

Directory

  1. Joyce Reid, Lexicography: Dictionaries by S. I. Landau

Message 1: Lexicography: Dictionaries by S. I. Landau

Date: 12 Feb 2001 10:22:23 +0800
From: Joyce Reid <jreidqmny.cup.org>
Subject: Lexicography: Dictionaries by S. I. Landau

Dictionaries
The Art and Craft of Lexicography
Second Edition
Sidney I. Landau

Here is a new thing under the sun: a virtually exhaustive treatment of
lexicography...should be required reading for all lexicographers and
can be heartily recommended to everyone else who cares to know what
dictionaries are like and how to use them to best advantage." -The
Times Literary Supplement

This second edition of Sidney I. Landau's landmark work offers a
comprehensive and completely up-to-date description of how
dictionaries are researched and written, with particular attention to
the ways in which computer technology has changed modern
lexicography. Landau has an insider's practical knowledge of making
dictionaries and every feature of the dictionary is examined and
explained. Written in a readable style, free of jargon and unnecessary
technical language, it will appeal to readers with no specialist
knowledge of the field, as well as to professional lexicographers.

Contents:

Introduction; 
1. What is a dictionary?; 
2. A brief history of lexicography; 
3. Key elements of dictionaries and other language references; 
4. Definition; 
5. Usage; 
6. The corpus in lexicography; 
7. Dictionary making; 
8. Legal and ethical issues; 
Bibliography and index to dictionaries mentioned in the text, 
from Johnson (1755) to the present; 
A selective bibliography of nondictionary sources.

2001/493 pp./4 halftones/22 figures/3 maps/5 tables
78040-3/Hb/List: $74.95
78512-X/Pb/List: $27.95

http://www.cambridge.org
Mail to author|Respond to list|Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue
Pubs-postscript-html  
----------------- Major Supporters ---------------- 
Arnold Publishers http://www.arnoldpublishers.com
Athelstan Publications http://www.athel.com
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Cascadilla Press http://www.cascadilla.com/
John Benjamins http://www.benjamins.com/
http://www.benjamins.nl/
Kluwer Academic Publishers http://www.wkap.nl/
Lernout & Hauspie http://www.lhsl.com
Lincom Europa http://www.lincom-europa.com
MIT Press http://mitpress.mit.edu/books-legacy.tcl
Mouton de Gruyter http://www.deGruyter.de/hling.html
Multilingual Matters http://www.multilingual-matters.com/
Oxford UP http://www.oup-usa.org/
Rodopi http://www.rodopi.nl/
Summer Institute of Linguistics http://www.sil.org/
---------Other Supporting Publishers-------------
Finno-Ugrian Society http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/sus/
Graduate Linguistic Students' Assoc., Umass http://www.umass.edu/linguist/GLSA/
Kingston Press Ltd. http://www.kingstonpress.com
Linguistic Assoc. of Finland http://www.ling.helsinki.fi/sky/
Pacific Linguistics http://pacling.anu.edu.au
Pacini Editore Spa http://www.pacinieditore.it/
Virittaja Aikakauslehti http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/kks/virittaja.html
Tuesday, February 06, 2001