LINGUIST List 12.362

Mon Feb 12 2001

Books: Syntax

Editor for this issue: Naomi Ogasawara <naomilinguistlist.org>


Links to the websites of all LINGUIST's supporting publishers are available at the end of this issue.

Directory

  1. Joyce Reid, Syntax: An Introduction to Syntax by R. D. Van Valin, Jr.

Message 1: Syntax: An Introduction to Syntax by R. D. Van Valin, Jr.

Date: 12 Feb 2001 10:36:06 +0800
From: Joyce Reid <jreidqmny.cup.org>
Subject: Syntax: An Introduction to Syntax by R. D. Van Valin, Jr.

An Introduction to Syntax
Robert D. Van Valin, Jr., State University of New York, Buffalo

Clearly organized and accessible, this comprehensive new textbook
provides students with a thorough grounding in the analysis of
syntactic structure using data from a typologically wide variety of
languages. The book guides students through the basic concepts
involved in syntactic analysis and goes on to prepare them for further
work in any syntactic theory, using examples from a range of phenomena
in human languages. It also includes a chapter on theories of
syntax. Each chapter includes generous exercises and recommendations
for further study.

Contents:

1. Syntax, lexical categories and morphology; 
2. Grammatical relations; 
3. Dependency relations; 
4. Constituent structure; 
5. Grammar and lexicon; 
6. Theories of syntax.

2001/c. 300 pp./116 line diagrams/17 tables
63199-8/Hb/List: $54.95
63566-7/Pb/List: $19.95

http://www.cambridge.org
Mail to author|Respond to list|Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue
Pubs-postscript-html  
----------------- Major Supporters ---------------- 
Arnold Publishers http://www.arnoldpublishers.com
Athelstan Publications http://www.athel.com
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Cascadilla Press http://www.cascadilla.com/
John Benjamins http://www.benjamins.com/
http://www.benjamins.nl/
Kluwer Academic Publishers http://www.wkap.nl/
Lernout & Hauspie http://www.lhsl.com
Lincom Europa http://www.lincom-europa.com
MIT Press http://mitpress.mit.edu/books-legacy.tcl
Mouton de Gruyter http://www.deGruyter.de/hling.html
Multilingual Matters http://www.multilingual-matters.com/
Oxford UP http://www.oup-usa.org/
Rodopi http://www.rodopi.nl/
Summer Institute of Linguistics http://www.sil.org/
---------Other Supporting Publishers-------------
Finno-Ugrian Society http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/sus/
Graduate Linguistic Students' Assoc., Umass http://www.umass.edu/linguist/GLSA/
Kingston Press Ltd. http://www.kingstonpress.com
Linguistic Assoc. of Finland http://www.ling.helsinki.fi/sky/
Pacific Linguistics http://pacling.anu.edu.au
Pacini Editore Spa http://www.pacinieditore.it/
Virittaja Aikakauslehti http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/kks/virittaja.html
Tuesday, February 06, 2001