LINGUIST List 12.363

Mon Feb 12 2001

Books: Typology

Editor for this issue: Naomi Ogasawara <naomilinguistlist.org>


Links to the websites of all LINGUIST's supporting publishers are available at the end of this issue.

Directory

  1. Joyce Reid, Typology: Number by G. G. Corbett

Message 1: Typology: Number by G. G. Corbett

Date: 12 Feb 2001 10:39:54 +0800
From: Joyce Reid <jreidqmny.cup.org>
Subject: Typology: Number by G. G. Corbett

Number
Greville G. Corbett, University of Surrey, UK

Number is the most underestimated of the grammatical categories. It is
deceptively simple yet distinctions in number (as in cat versus cats )
vary considerably from language to language. Some languages, for
instance, make more distinctions than English, having three, four or
even five different values. This book draws on examples from many
languages to analyze the possibilities and reveals that the world's
linguistic resources are richer than even many linguists realize. It
is intended for linguistic students and teachers and is an ideal entry
to linguistic typology.

Contents: 

Introduction; 
1. Introduction; 
2. Meaning distinctions; 
3. Items involved in the Nominal Number System; 
4. Integrating number values and the Animacy Hierarchy; 
5. The expression of number; 
6. The syntax of number; 
7. Other uses of number; 
8. Verbal number; 
9. Conclusion and new challenges.

Cambridge Textbooks in Linguistics

2001/378 pp./52 figures/92 tables
64016-4/Hb/List: $69.95
64970-6/Pb/List: $24.95

http://www.cambridge.org
Mail to author|Respond to list|Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue
Pubs-postscript-html  
----------------- Major Supporters ---------------- 
Arnold Publishers http://www.arnoldpublishers.com
Athelstan Publications http://www.athel.com
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Cascadilla Press http://www.cascadilla.com/
John Benjamins http://www.benjamins.com/
http://www.benjamins.nl/
Kluwer Academic Publishers http://www.wkap.nl/
Lernout & Hauspie http://www.lhsl.com
Lincom Europa http://www.lincom-europa.com
MIT Press http://mitpress.mit.edu/books-legacy.tcl
Mouton de Gruyter http://www.deGruyter.de/hling.html
Multilingual Matters http://www.multilingual-matters.com/
Oxford UP http://www.oup-usa.org/
Rodopi http://www.rodopi.nl/
Summer Institute of Linguistics http://www.sil.org/
---------Other Supporting Publishers-------------
Finno-Ugrian Society http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/sus/
Graduate Linguistic Students' Assoc., Umass http://www.umass.edu/linguist/GLSA/
Kingston Press Ltd. http://www.kingstonpress.com
Linguistic Assoc. of Finland http://www.ling.helsinki.fi/sky/
Pacific Linguistics http://pacling.anu.edu.au
Pacini Editore Spa http://www.pacinieditore.it/
Virittaja Aikakauslehti http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/kks/virittaja.html
Tuesday, February 06, 2001