LINGUIST List 12.365

Mon Feb 12 2001

Books: Linguistic Theory

Editor for this issue: Naomi Ogasawara <naomilinguistlist.org>


Links to the websites of all LINGUIST's supporting publishers are available at the end of this issue.

Directory

  1. Joyce Reid, Linguistic Theory: Language Acquisition & Learnability by Bertolo(ed.)

Message 1: Linguistic Theory: Language Acquisition & Learnability by Bertolo(ed.)

Date: 12 Feb 2001 10:54:03 +0800
From: Joyce Reid <jreidqmny.cup.org>
Subject: Linguistic Theory: Language Acquisition & Learnability by Bertolo(ed.)

Language Acquisition and Learnability
Editor
Stefano Bertolo

Language Acquisition and Learnability is an accessible introduction to
learnability theory and its interactions with linguistic
theories. Working within the Principles and Parameters framework, the
book surveys general concepts from formal learning theory and
complexity theory, together with important findings from developmental
psycholinguistics, historical linguistics and language
processing. Fully integrated, and complete with a large number of
exercises to test readers on their understanding of the material, this
book will become essential reading for students and researchers in
linguistic theory.

Contributors:

S. Bertolo, M. Atkinson, I. Roberts, R. Clark, W. G. Sakas, J. D. Fodor 

1. A brief overview of learnability S. Bertolo; 
2. Learnability and the acquisition of syntax M. Atkinson; 
3. Language change and learnability I. Roberts; 
4. Information theory, complexity and linguistic descriptions R. Clark; 
5. The structural triggers learner W. G. Sakas and J. D. Fodor.

2001/c. 340 pp./7 line diagrams/12 tables
0-521-64149-7/Hb/List: $64.95
0-521-64620-0/Pb/List: $22.95

http://www.cambridge.org
Mail to author|Respond to list|Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue
Pubs-postscript-html  
----------------- Major Supporters ---------------- 
Arnold Publishers http://www.arnoldpublishers.com
Athelstan Publications http://www.athel.com
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Cascadilla Press http://www.cascadilla.com/
John Benjamins http://www.benjamins.com/
http://www.benjamins.nl/
Kluwer Academic Publishers http://www.wkap.nl/
Lernout & Hauspie http://www.lhsl.com
Lincom Europa http://www.lincom-europa.com
MIT Press http://mitpress.mit.edu/books-legacy.tcl
Mouton de Gruyter http://www.deGruyter.de/hling.html
Multilingual Matters http://www.multilingual-matters.com/
Oxford UP http://www.oup-usa.org/
Rodopi http://www.rodopi.nl/
Summer Institute of Linguistics http://www.sil.org/
---------Other Supporting Publishers-------------
Finno-Ugrian Society http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/sus/
Graduate Linguistic Students' Assoc., Umass http://www.umass.edu/linguist/GLSA/
Kingston Press Ltd. http://www.kingstonpress.com
Linguistic Assoc. of Finland http://www.ling.helsinki.fi/sky/
Pacific Linguistics http://pacling.anu.edu.au
Pacini Editore Spa http://www.pacinieditore.it/
Virittaja Aikakauslehti http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/kks/virittaja.html
Tuesday, February 06, 2001