LINGUIST List 12.366

Mon Feb 12 2001

Books: Japanese Language

Editor for this issue: Naomi Ogasawara <naomilinguistlist.org>


Links to the websites of all LINGUIST's supporting publishers are available at the end of this issue.

Directory

  1. Joyce Reid, Japanese Language: Using Japanese by W. McClure

Message 1: Japanese Language: Using Japanese by W. McClure

Date: 12 Feb 2001 10:56:42 +0800
From: Joyce Reid <jreidqmny.cup.org>
Subject: Japanese Language: Using Japanese by W. McClure

Using Japanese
A Guide to Contemporary Usage
William McClure, Queens College, City University of New York, Flushing

This is a guide to Japanese usage for students who have acquired the
basics of the language and wish to extend their knowledge. Unlike
conventional grammars, it gives special attention to those areas of
vocabulary and grammar that cause the most difficulty to English
speakers. Careful consideration is given throughout to questions of
style, register, and politeness, and there are sections on social
rituals such as greetings, introductions and apologies. Clear,
readable and easy to consult, with two indexes (Japanese and English),
this is an essential reference for learners seeking access to the
finer nuancesof the Japanese language.

Contents:

1. Register and politeness; 
2. Words; 
3. Grammar and verbal strategies; 
4. Language and everyday life; 
Japanese index; 
English index; 
References.

2000/320 pp.
0-521-64155-1/Hb/List: $64.95
0-521-64614-6/Pb/List: $22.95

http://www.cambridge.org
Mail to author|Respond to list|Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue
Pubs-postscript-html  
----------------- Major Supporters ---------------- 
Arnold Publishers http://www.arnoldpublishers.com
Athelstan Publications http://www.athel.com
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Cascadilla Press http://www.cascadilla.com/
John Benjamins http://www.benjamins.com/
http://www.benjamins.nl/
Kluwer Academic Publishers http://www.wkap.nl/
Lernout & Hauspie http://www.lhsl.com
Lincom Europa http://www.lincom-europa.com
MIT Press http://mitpress.mit.edu/books-legacy.tcl
Mouton de Gruyter http://www.deGruyter.de/hling.html
Multilingual Matters http://www.multilingual-matters.com/
Oxford UP http://www.oup-usa.org/
Rodopi http://www.rodopi.nl/
Summer Institute of Linguistics http://www.sil.org/
---------Other Supporting Publishers-------------
Finno-Ugrian Society http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/sus/
Graduate Linguistic Students' Assoc., Umass http://www.umass.edu/linguist/GLSA/
Kingston Press Ltd. http://www.kingstonpress.com
Linguistic Assoc. of Finland http://www.ling.helsinki.fi/sky/
Pacific Linguistics http://pacling.anu.edu.au
Pacini Editore Spa http://www.pacinieditore.it/
Virittaja Aikakauslehti http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/kks/virittaja.html
Tuesday, February 06, 2001