LINGUIST List 12.367

Mon Feb 12 2001

Books: Phonology

Editor for this issue: Naomi Ogasawara <naomilinguistlist.org>


Links to the websites of all LINGUIST's supporting publishers are available at the end of this issue.

Directory

  1. Joyce Reid, Phonology: Phonology and Language Use by J. Bybee

Message 1: Phonology: Phonology and Language Use by J. Bybee

Date: 12 Feb 2001 11:21:32 +0800
From: Joyce Reid <jreidqmny.cup.org>
Subject: Phonology: Phonology and Language Use by J. Bybee

Phonology and Language Use
Joan Bybee, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque

Referencing new developments in cognitive and functional linguistics,
phonetics, and connectionist modeling, this book investigates various
ways in which a speaker/hearer's experience with language affects the
representation of phonology. Rather than assuming phonological
representations in terms of phonemes, Joan Bybee adopts an exemplar
model, in which specific tokens of use are stored and categorized
phonetically with reference to variables in the context. This model
allows an account of phonetically gradual sound change that produces
lexical variation, and provides an explanatory account of the fact
that many reductive sound changes affect high frequency items first.

Contents:

1. Language Use as a Part of Linguistic Theory; 
2. A Usage-Based Model for Phonology and Morphology; 
3. The Nature of Lexical Representation; 
4. Phonological Processes, Phonological Patterns; 
5. The Interaction of Phonology with Morphology; 
6. The Units of Storage and Access: Morphemes, Words, and Phrases; 
7. Constructions as Processing Units: The Rise and Fall of French Liaison; 
8. Universals, Synchrony and Diachrony.

Cambridge Studies in Linguistics 94
2001/280 pp./31 line diagrams
0-521-58374-8/Hb/List: $59.95

http://www.cambridge.org
Mail to author|Respond to list|Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue
Pubs-postscript-html  
----------------- Major Supporters ---------------- 
Arnold Publishers http://www.arnoldpublishers.com
Athelstan Publications http://www.athel.com
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Cascadilla Press http://www.cascadilla.com/
John Benjamins http://www.benjamins.com/
http://www.benjamins.nl/
Kluwer Academic Publishers http://www.wkap.nl/
Lernout & Hauspie http://www.lhsl.com
Lincom Europa http://www.lincom-europa.com
MIT Press http://mitpress.mit.edu/books-legacy.tcl
Mouton de Gruyter http://www.deGruyter.de/hling.html
Multilingual Matters http://www.multilingual-matters.com/
Oxford UP http://www.oup-usa.org/
Rodopi http://www.rodopi.nl/
Summer Institute of Linguistics http://www.sil.org/
---------Other Supporting Publishers-------------
Finno-Ugrian Society http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/sus/
Graduate Linguistic Students' Assoc., Umass http://www.umass.edu/linguist/GLSA/
Kingston Press Ltd. http://www.kingstonpress.com
Linguistic Assoc. of Finland http://www.ling.helsinki.fi/sky/
Pacific Linguistics http://pacling.anu.edu.au
Pacini Editore Spa http://www.pacinieditore.it/
Virittaja Aikakauslehti http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/kks/virittaja.html
Tuesday, February 06, 2001