LINGUIST List 12.369

Mon Feb 12 2001

Books: Linguistic Theory

Editor for this issue: Naomi Ogasawara <naomilinguistlist.org>


Links to the websites of all LINGUIST's supporting publishers are available at the end of this issue.

Directory

  1. Joyce Reid, Linguistic Theory: Inflectional Morphology by G. T. Stump

Message 1: Linguistic Theory: Inflectional Morphology by G. T. Stump

Date: 12 Feb 2001 11:50:52 +0800
From: Joyce Reid <jreidqmny.cup.org>
Subject: Linguistic Theory: Inflectional Morphology by G. T. Stump

Inflectional Morphology
A Theory of Paradigm Structure
Gregory T. Stump, University of Kentucky, Lexington

A new contribution to linguistic theory, this book presents a formal
framework for the analysis of word structure in human language. It
sets forth the network of hypotheses constituting Paradigm Function
Morphology, a theory of inflectional form. The book differs from other
recent works on the same subject in that it treats inflectional
morphology as an autonomous system of principles rather than as a
subsystem of syntax or phonology and it draws on evidence from a
diverse range of languages in motivating the proposed conception of
word structure.

Contents:

1. Inferential-realization morphology; 
2. Paradigm functions; 
3. Rule competition; 
4. Headedness; 
5. Rule blocks; 
6. Stem alterations; 
7. Syncretism; 
8. Conclusions, extensions and alternatives.

Cambridge Studies in Linguistics 93

2001/324 pp./5 line diagrams/65 tables/335 exercises
0-521-78047-0/Hb/List: $64.95


http://www.cambridge.org
Mail to author|Respond to list|Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue
Pubs-postscript-html  
----------------- Major Supporters ---------------- 
Arnold Publishers http://www.arnoldpublishers.com
Athelstan Publications http://www.athel.com
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Cascadilla Press http://www.cascadilla.com/
John Benjamins http://www.benjamins.com/
http://www.benjamins.nl/
Kluwer Academic Publishers http://www.wkap.nl/
Lernout & Hauspie http://www.lhsl.com
Lincom Europa http://www.lincom-europa.com
MIT Press http://mitpress.mit.edu/books-legacy.tcl
Mouton de Gruyter http://www.deGruyter.de/hling.html
Multilingual Matters http://www.multilingual-matters.com/
Oxford UP http://www.oup-usa.org/
Rodopi http://www.rodopi.nl/
Summer Institute of Linguistics http://www.sil.org/
---------Other Supporting Publishers-------------
Finno-Ugrian Society http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/sus/
Graduate Linguistic Students' Assoc., Umass http://www.umass.edu/linguist/GLSA/
Kingston Press Ltd. http://www.kingstonpress.com
Linguistic Assoc. of Finland http://www.ling.helsinki.fi/sky/
Pacific Linguistics http://pacling.anu.edu.au
Pacini Editore Spa http://www.pacinieditore.it/
Virittaja Aikakauslehti http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/kks/virittaja.html
Tuesday, February 06, 2001