LINGUIST List 12.400

Thu Feb 15 2001

Books: Language and Culture

Editor for this issue: Karen Milligan <karenlinguistlist.org>


Links to the websites of all LINGUIST's supporting publishers are available at the end of this issue.

Directory

  1. Kimberly Kahn, Language & Nationalism in Europe, Barbour & Carmichael, editors

Message 1: Language & Nationalism in Europe, Barbour & Carmichael, editors

Date: Mon, 12 Feb 2001 12:26:13 -0500
From: Kimberly Kahn <KRKOUP-USA.ORG>
Subject: Language & Nationalism in Europe, Barbour & Carmichael, editors


LANGUAGE AND NATIONALISM IN EUROPE
Edited by Stephen Barbour, Oxford University, and
Cathie Carmichael, Middlesex University

This volume examines the role of language in the
present and past creation of social, cultural, and
national identities in Europe, considering the way in
which language may sometimes reinforce national
identity (as in England) while tending to subvert the
nation-state (as in the United Kingdom). 

The book describes the interactive roles of language,
ethnicity, culture, and institutions in the character and
formation of nationalism and identity throughout
Europe. A select team of international contributors
consider various questions drawing on evidence from
the majority of European countries.

The book concludes with a consideration of the
current relative status of the languages of Europe and
how these and the identities they reflect are changing
and evolving.

February 2001 336 pp.; 4 maps, 1 fig
0-19-823671-9 $70.00
Oxford University Press
 


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Kimberly Kahn
Oxford University Press, 198 Madison Avenue, New
York, NY 10016
Phone: (212) 726-6086 Fax: (212) 726-6442 E-mail:
krkoup-usa.org
Mail to author|Respond to list|Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue
Pubs-postscript-html  
----------------- Major Supporters ---------------- 
Arnold Publishers http://www.arnoldpublishers.com
Athelstan Publications http://www.athel.com
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Cascadilla Press http://www.cascadilla.com/
John Benjamins http://www.benjamins.com/
http://www.benjamins.nl/
Kluwer Academic Publishers http://www.wkap.nl/
Lernout & Hauspie http://www.lhsl.com
Lincom Europa http://www.lincom-europa.com
MIT Press http://mitpress.mit.edu/books-legacy.tcl
Mouton de Gruyter http://www.deGruyter.de/hling.html
Multilingual Matters http://www.multilingual-matters.com/
Oxford UP http://www.oup-usa.org/
Rodopi http://www.rodopi.nl/
Summer Institute of Linguistics http://www.sil.org/
---------Other Supporting Publishers-------------
Finno-Ugrian Society http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/sus/
Graduate Linguistic Students' Assoc., Umass http://www.umass.edu/linguist/GLSA/
Kingston Press Ltd. http://www.kingstonpress.com
Linguistic Assoc. of Finland http://www.ling.helsinki.fi/sky/
Pacific Linguistics http://pacling.anu.edu.au
Pacini Editore Spa http://www.pacinieditore.it/
Virittaja Aikakauslehti http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/kks/virittaja.html
Tuesday, February 06, 2001