LINGUIST List 12.408

Thu Feb 15 2001

Books: Marathi Language

Editor for this issue: Naomi Ogasawara <naomilinguistlist.org>


Links to the websites of all LINGUIST's supporting publishers are available at the end of this issue.

Directory

  1. Kimberly Kahn, Marathi Language: A Dictionary of Old Marathi by Tulpule & Feldhaus

Message 1: Marathi Language: A Dictionary of Old Marathi by Tulpule & Feldhaus

Date: Mon, 12 Feb 2001 12:22:39 -0500
From: Kimberly Kahn <KRKOUP-USA.ORG>
Subject: Marathi Language: A Dictionary of Old Marathi by Tulpule & Feldhaus


A DICTIONARY OF OLD MARATHI
the late S. G. Tulpule and Anne Feldhaus

(South Asia Research)

Marathi is the official language of Maharashtra state in India. Old
Marathi is the "classical" written form of the language as it appears
in the abundant literature and inscriptions dating from around 1000 to
1350 B.C.E. This dictionary, the only one of its kind, is based on all
known inscriptions and literary sources from the Old Marathi
period. For each word, it offers a transliteration, an abbreviation
indicating the grammatical category, an indication of etymology (where
known), the attested meaning (with variants), and a citation or
citations illustrating the use of the word in Old Marathi sources.

August 2000 856 pp.
0-19-512600-9 $70.00
Oxford University Press
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Kimberly Kahn
Oxford University Press, 198 Madison Avenue, New
York, NY 10016
Phone: (212) 726-6086 Fax: (212) 726-6442 E-mail: krkoup-usa.org
Mail to author|Respond to list|Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue
Pubs-postscript-html  
----------------- Major Supporters ---------------- 
Arnold Publishers http://www.arnoldpublishers.com
Athelstan Publications http://www.athel.com
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Cascadilla Press http://www.cascadilla.com/
John Benjamins http://www.benjamins.com/
http://www.benjamins.nl/
Kluwer Academic Publishers http://www.wkap.nl/
Lernout & Hauspie http://www.lhsl.com
Lincom Europa http://www.lincom-europa.com
MIT Press http://mitpress.mit.edu/books-legacy.tcl
Mouton de Gruyter http://www.deGruyter.de/hling.html
Multilingual Matters http://www.multilingual-matters.com/
Oxford UP http://www.oup-usa.org/
Rodopi http://www.rodopi.nl/
Summer Institute of Linguistics http://www.sil.org/
---------Other Supporting Publishers-------------
Finno-Ugrian Society http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/sus/
Graduate Linguistic Students' Assoc., Umass http://www.umass.edu/linguist/GLSA/
Kingston Press Ltd. http://www.kingstonpress.com
Linguistic Assoc. of Finland http://www.ling.helsinki.fi/sky/
Pacific Linguistics http://pacling.anu.edu.au
Pacini Editore Spa http://www.pacinieditore.it/
Virittaja Aikakauslehti http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/kks/virittaja.html
Tuesday, February 06, 2001