LINGUIST List 12.410

Thu Feb 15 2001

Books: Cognitive Linguistics

Editor for this issue: Naomi Ogasawara <naomilinguistlist.org>


Links to the websites of all LINGUIST's supporting publishers are available at the end of this issue.

Directory

  1. Kimberly Kahn, Cognitive Ling: Anaphora by Y. Huang

Message 1: Cognitive Ling: Anaphora by Y. Huang

Date: Mon, 12 Feb 2001 12:28:38 -0500
From: Kimberly Kahn <KRKOUP-USA.ORG>
Subject: Cognitive Ling: Anaphora by Y. Huang


ANAPHORA: A Cross-linguistic Study
Yan Huang, University of Reading

(Oxford Studies in Typology and Linguistic Theory)

Understanding any communication depends on the listener or reader
recognizing that some words refer to what has already been said or
written (his, its, he, there, etc.). This mode of reference, anaphora,
involves complicated cognitive and syntactic processes, which people
usually perform unerringly, but which present formidable problems for
the linguist and cognitive scientist trying to explain precisely how
comprehension is achieved.
 
Yan Huang provides an extensive and accessible overview of the major
contemporary issues surrounding anaphora and gives a critical survey
of the many and diverse contemporary approaches to it. He provides by
far the fullest cross-linguistic account yet published: Dr Huang's
survey and analysis are based on a rich collection of data drawn from
around 450 of the world's languages.

November 2000 416 pp.
0-19-823529-1 cloth $85.00
0-19-823528-3 paper $35.00
Oxford University Press
 
 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Kimberly Kahn
Oxford University Press, 198 Madison Avenue, New
York, NY 10016
Phone: (212) 726-6086 Fax: (212) 726-6442 E-mail: krkoup-usa.org
Mail to author|Respond to list|Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue
Pubs-postscript-html  
----------------- Major Supporters ---------------- 
Arnold Publishers http://www.arnoldpublishers.com
Athelstan Publications http://www.athel.com
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Cascadilla Press http://www.cascadilla.com/
John Benjamins http://www.benjamins.com/
http://www.benjamins.nl/
Kluwer Academic Publishers http://www.wkap.nl/
Lernout & Hauspie http://www.lhsl.com
Lincom Europa http://www.lincom-europa.com
MIT Press http://mitpress.mit.edu/books-legacy.tcl
Mouton de Gruyter http://www.deGruyter.de/hling.html
Multilingual Matters http://www.multilingual-matters.com/
Oxford UP http://www.oup-usa.org/
Rodopi http://www.rodopi.nl/
Summer Institute of Linguistics http://www.sil.org/
---------Other Supporting Publishers-------------
Finno-Ugrian Society http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/sus/
Graduate Linguistic Students' Assoc., Umass http://www.umass.edu/linguist/GLSA/
Kingston Press Ltd. http://www.kingstonpress.com
Linguistic Assoc. of Finland http://www.ling.helsinki.fi/sky/
Pacific Linguistics http://pacling.anu.edu.au
Pacini Editore Spa http://www.pacinieditore.it/
Virittaja Aikakauslehti http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/kks/virittaja.html
Tuesday, February 06, 2001