LINGUIST List 12.622

Tue Mar 6 2001

Books: Computational Linguistics

Editor for this issue: Naomi Ogasawara <naomilinguistlist.org>


Links to the websites of all LINGUIST's supporting publishers are available at the end of this issue.

Directory

  1. Jud Wolfskill, Comp Ling: Empirical Methods for Exploiting Parallel Texts by Melamed

Message 1: Comp Ling: Empirical Methods for Exploiting Parallel Texts by Melamed

Date: Mon, 5 Mar 2001 14:10:42 -0500
From: Jud Wolfskill <wolfskilMIT.EDU>
Subject: Comp Ling: Empirical Methods for Exploiting Parallel Texts by Melamed


For more information please visit
http://mitpress.mit.edu/promotions/books/MELEHF00


Empirical Methods for Exploiting Parallel Texts

I. Dan Melamed


Parallel texts (bitexts) are a goldmine of linguistic knowledge,
because the translation of a text into another language can be viewed
as a detailed annotation of what that text means. Knowledge about
translational equivalence, which can be gleaned from bitexts, is of
central importance for applications such as manual and machine
translation, cross-language information retrieval, and corpus
linguistics. The availability of bitexts has increased dramatically
since the advent of the Web, making their study an exciting new area
of research in natural language processing. This book lays out the
theory and the practical techniques for discovering and applying
translational equivalence at the lexical level. It is a
start-to-finish guide to designing and evaluating many translingual
applications.


I. Dan Melamed is a research scientist in the Computer Science Research
Department of West Group, Minnesota.


6 x 9, 198pp., 75 illus., cloth ISBN 0-262-13380-6



Jud Wolfskill						617.253.2079 phone
Associate Publicist					617.253.1709 fax
MIT Press						wolfskilmit.edu
5 Cambridge Center					http://mitpress.mit.edu
Fourth Floor
Cambridge, MA 02142
Mail to author|Respond to list|Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue
Pubs-postscript-html  
----------------- Major Supporters ---------------- 
Arnold Publishers http://www.arnoldpublishers.com
Athelstan Publications http://www.athel.com
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Cambridge University Press http://www.cup.org
Cascadilla Press http://www.cascadilla.com/
Elsevier Science Ltd. http://www.elsevier.nl/locate/linguistics
John Benjamins http://www.benjamins.com/
http://www.benjamins.nl/
Kluwer Academic Publishers http://www.wkap.nl/
Lernout & Hauspie http://www.lhsl.com
Lincom Europa http://www.lincom-europa.com
MIT Press http://mitpress.mit.edu/books-legacy.tcl
Mouton de Gruyter http://www.deGruyter.de/hling.html
Multilingual Matters http://www.multilingual-matters.com/
Oxford UP http://www.oup-usa.org/
Rodopi http://www.rodopi.nl/
Springer-Verlag http://www.springer.de
Summer Institute of Linguistics http://www.sil.org/
---------Other Supporting Publishers-------------
Finno-Ugrian Society http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/sus/
Graduate Linguistic Students' Assoc., Umass http://www.umass.edu/linguist/GLSA/
Kingston Press Ltd. http://www.kingstonpress.com
Linguistic Assoc. of Finland http://www.ling.helsinki.fi/sky/
Linguistic Society of Southern Africa (LSSA) http://www.safest.org.za/bsp
Pacific Linguistics http://pacling.anu.edu.au
Pacini Editore Spa http://www.pacinieditore.it/
Virittaja Aikakauslehti http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/kks/virittaja.html
Friday, February 16, 2001