LINGUIST List 12.650

Thu Mar 8 2001

Books: Text Analysis

Editor for this issue: Naomi Ogasawara <naomilinguistlist.org>


Links to the websites of all LINGUIST's supporting publishers are available at the end of this issue.

Directory

  1. Stefan Vranka, Text Analysis: Electronic Texts in the Humanities by S. Hockey

Message 1: Text Analysis: Electronic Texts in the Humanities by S. Hockey

Date: Wed, 07 Mar 2001 13:55:07 -0500
From: Stefan Vranka <SJVOUP-USA.ORG>
Subject: Text Analysis: Electronic Texts in the Humanities by S. Hockey

New from Oxford University Press:

Electronic Texts in the Humanities
Principles and Practice
SUSAN HOCKEY

This book introduces a range of tools and techniques for manipulating
and analysing electronic texts in the humanities. It shows how
electronic texts can be used for the literary analysis, linguistic
analysis, authorship attribution, and the preparation and publication
of electronic scholarly editions. It also assesses the ways in which
research in corpus and computational linguistics can feed into better
electronic tools for humanities research.

CONTENTS
List of Figures
1. Why Electronic Texts?
2. Creating and Acquiring Electronic Texts
3. Text Encoding
4. Concordance and Text Retrieval Programs
5. Literary Analysis
6. Linguistic Analysis
7. Stylometry and Attribution Studies
8. Textual Criticism and Electronic Editions
9. Dictionaries and Lexical Databases
10. Where Next?
Bibliography
Index

Susan Hockey is Professor of Library and Information
Studies, University College London.

232 pp.; 9 line illus
$22.95 (01) 
paper
0198711956 
2001

$70.00 (06) 
cloth
0198711948 
2001

http://www.oup-usa.org/isbn/0198711956.html
Mail to author|Respond to list|Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue
Pubs-postscript-html  
----------------- Major Supporters ---------------- 
Arnold Publishers http://www.arnoldpublishers.com
Athelstan Publications http://www.athel.com
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Cambridge University Press http://www.cup.org
Cascadilla Press http://www.cascadilla.com/
Elsevier Science Ltd. http://www.elsevier.nl/locate/linguistics
John Benjamins http://www.benjamins.com/
http://www.benjamins.nl/
Kluwer Academic Publishers http://www.wkap.nl/
Lernout & Hauspie http://www.lhsl.com
Lincom Europa http://www.lincom-europa.com
MIT Press http://mitpress.mit.edu/books-legacy.tcl
Mouton de Gruyter http://www.deGruyter.de/hling.html
Multilingual Matters http://www.multilingual-matters.com/
Oxford UP http://www.oup-usa.org/
Rodopi http://www.rodopi.nl/
Springer-Verlag http://www.springer.de
Summer Institute of Linguistics http://www.sil.org/
---------Other Supporting Publishers-------------
Finno-Ugrian Society http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/sus/
Graduate Linguistic Students' Assoc., Umass http://www.umass.edu/linguist/GLSA/
Kingston Press Ltd. http://www.kingstonpress.com
Linguistic Assoc. of Finland http://www.ling.helsinki.fi/sky/
Linguistic Society of Southern Africa (LSSA) http://www.safest.org.za/bsp
Pacific Linguistics http://pacling.anu.edu.au
Pacini Editore Spa http://www.pacinieditore.it/
Virittaja Aikakauslehti http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/kks/virittaja.html
Friday, February 16, 2001