LINGUIST List 12.651

Fri Mar 9 2001

Books: Phonology

Editor for this issue: Naomi Ogasawara <naomilinguistlist.org>


Links to the websites of all LINGUIST's supporting publishers are available at the end of this issue.

Directory

  1. Kimberly Kahn, Phonology: Phonological Knowledge by Burton-Roberts, Carr & Docherty

Message 1: Phonology: Phonological Knowledge by Burton-Roberts, Carr & Docherty

Date: Wed, 07 Mar 2001 13:41:09 -0500
From: Kimberly Kahn <KRKOUP-USA.ORG>
Subject: Phonology: Phonological Knowledge by Burton-Roberts, Carr & Docherty



PHONOLOGICAL KNOWLEDGE: Conceptual and Empirical Issues
Edited by Noel Burton-Roberts, University of Newcastle upon Tyne, 
 Philip Carr, University Paul Valery (Montpellier III), France, and 
 Gerard Docherty, University of Newcastle upon Tyne

This volume concerns the nature, status, and acquisition of
phonological knowledge, and its place in, or relation to, the theory
of language and other capacities of mind. The contributions are
written by well-known linguists and phonologists and address a wide
range of interrelated issues: for example, whether phonology is
'different' from the rest of language; the implications of sign
language; the nature-convention debate; and the data and methods of
phonology. Of interest to researchers in phonology, linguistics, and
psychology, the volume will also appeal to postgraduates and advanced
undergraduates in linguistics.

March 2001 368 pp.; 20 line illus
0-19-824127-5 cloth $85.00
0-19-924577-0 paper $35.00
Oxford University Press
 
 
For more information about Linguistics titles from Oxford or to place an order
visit the Oxford University Press USA web site at:
http://www.oup-usa.org 
Mail to author|Respond to list|Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue
Pubs-postscript-html  
----------------- Major Supporters ---------------- 
Arnold Publishers http://www.arnoldpublishers.com
Athelstan Publications http://www.athel.com
Blackwell Publishers http://www.blackwellpublishers.co.uk/
Cambridge University Press http://www.cup.org
Cascadilla Press http://www.cascadilla.com/
Elsevier Science Ltd. http://www.elsevier.nl/locate/linguistics
John Benjamins http://www.benjamins.com/
http://www.benjamins.nl/
Kluwer Academic Publishers http://www.wkap.nl/
Lernout & Hauspie http://www.lhsl.com
Lincom Europa http://www.lincom-europa.com
MIT Press http://mitpress.mit.edu/books-legacy.tcl
Mouton de Gruyter http://www.deGruyter.de/hling.html
Multilingual Matters http://www.multilingual-matters.com/
Oxford UP http://www.oup-usa.org/
Rodopi http://www.rodopi.nl/
Springer-Verlag http://www.springer.de
Summer Institute of Linguistics http://www.sil.org/
---------Other Supporting Publishers-------------
Finno-Ugrian Society http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/sus/
Graduate Linguistic Students' Assoc., Umass http://www.umass.edu/linguist/GLSA/
Kingston Press Ltd. http://www.kingstonpress.com
Linguistic Assoc. of Finland http://www.ling.helsinki.fi/sky/
Linguistic Society of Southern Africa (LSSA) http://www.safest.org.za/bsp
Pacific Linguistics http://pacling.anu.edu.au
Pacini Editore Spa http://www.pacinieditore.it/
Virittaja Aikakauslehti http://www.helsinki.fi/jarj/kks/virittaja.html
Friday, February 16, 2001