LINGUIST List 13.1228

Thu May 2 2002

Calls: Historical Syntax,Dialogue Semantics&Pragmatics

Editor for this issue: Renee Galvis <>

As a matter of policy, LINGUIST discourages the use of abbreviations or acronyms in conference announcements unless they are explained in the text.


  1. Juhani Klemola, 2nd CfP: Approaches to Historical Syntax
  2. edilog, EDILOG 2002, 3rd CFP (Submission deadline: May 10)

Message 1: 2nd CfP: Approaches to Historical Syntax

Date: Thu, 2 May 2002 12:57:26 +0300
From: Juhani Klemola <>
Subject: 2nd CfP: Approaches to Historical Syntax


The Linguistic Association of Finland is organizing a symposium on


to be held at the University of Joensuu Mekrijervi Research Station,
September 19-22, 2002.

The symposium will bring together scholars interested in problems
relating to historical syntax. We invite papers and posters dealing
with particular language(s) as well as papers taking a crosslinguistic
perspective. Suggested themes include changes in argument structure,
grammaticalization in historical syntax, and the role of corpora and
quantitative analysis in the study of historical syntax. Other topics
relating to historical syntax are also welcome.

Invited speakers:
* Alice C. Harris (Vanderbilt University)
* Anthony Warner (University of York)

* lectures by invited speakers
* presentations by other participants (20 min + 10 min for discussion)
* poster session

The deadline for submission of abstracts (in English; max 500 words)
is May 30, 2002. Please indicate on the abstract whether your
presentation is intended as a paper or a poster. Please submit your
abstract by e-mail to the following address:
The abstract should be included in the body of the message. E-mail
submissions are strongly recommended. If, however, you send your
abstract by ordinary mail, please provide an e-mail address as a
contact address.

Participants will be notified about acceptance by June 14, 2002. The
accepted abstracts will be published on the web pages of the symposium

The deadline for registration for all participants is June 30, 2002.
Register by e-mail to the address <>.

Registration fees:
* general: EUR 40
* members of the association: EUR 20
* undergraduate and MA students free
Send your payment by giro account no 800013-1424850 to The Linguistic
Association of Finland (SKY)/Symposium. For participants coming from
abroad we recommend payment in cash upon arrival. However, it is
possible to pay via Eurogiro or SWIFT to our account (International
Bank Account Number FI808000131424850) with Sampo Bank plc, Helsinki,
Finland. SWIFT-address: PSPBFIHH; Telex 121 698 pgiro sf.

The symposium takes place at the University of Joensuu Mekrijervi
Research Station in North Karelia, close to the Russian border. For
more information about the Mekrijervi Research Station and its
surroundings, please visit the Station's web pages at Transportation from Joensuu to
Mekrijervi and back will be arranged by the organizers.

An accommodation fee of EUR 117 will cover 3 nights' full board and
lodging at Mekrijervi from Thursday evening to Sunday afternoon
(accommodation fee to be paid upon arrival). The academic programme of
the symposium will run from Friday morning till Sunday afternoon.

For further information, please visit our web pages at or contact the organizers

The organizing committee:

Juhani Klemola (chair), Department of English, P.O. Box 4, FIN-00014
University of Helsinki, Finland, e-mail:
Pentti Haddington (English, U of Oulu),
Arja Hamari (Finno-Ugric languages, U of Turku),
Seppo Kittila (General Linguistics, U of Turku),
Leena Kolehmainen (German, U of Helsinki),
Marja Nenonen (General Linguistics, U of Joensuu),
Esa Penttila (English, U of Joensuu),
Heli Pitkanen (English, U of Joensuu),
Marja Palsi (General Linguistics, U of Helsinki),
Jouni Rostila (German, U of Tampere),
Jari Sivonen (Finnish, U of Oulu),
Mail to author|Respond to list|Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue

Message 2: EDILOG 2002, 3rd CFP (Submission deadline: May 10)

Date: Thu, 2 May 2002 15:15:30 +0100 (BST)
From: edilog <>
Subject: EDILOG 2002, 3rd CFP (Submission deadline: May 10)

 Third Call for Papers

 EDILOG 2002


 Edinburgh University
 Sept 4th-6th 2002

- -------------------------------------------------------------------

Edilog 2002 will be the sixth in a series of workshops that aims to
bring together researchers working on the semantics and pragmatics of
dialogues in fields such as artificial intelligence, formal semantics
and pragmatics, computational linguistics, philosophy, and psychology.

We invite abstracts on all topics related to the semantics and
pragmatics of dialogues, including, but not limited to:

- models of common ground/mutual belief in communication
- modelling agents' information states and how they get updated
- multi-agent models and turn-taking
- goals, intentions and commitments in communication
- semantic interpretation in dialogues
- reference in dialogues
- dialogue and discourse structure
- interpretation of questions and answers
- nonlinguistic interaction in communication
- natural language understanding and reasoning in spoken dialogue systems
- multimodal dialogue systems
- dialogue management in practical implementations
- categorisation of dialogue moves or speech acts in corpora
- designing and evaluating dialogue systems


Authors should submit an anonymous extended abstract of at most 5
single-column pages (for talks with a duration of 30' plus 10'
discussion) together with a separate page specifying the authors'
names, affiliation, address, and e-mail address. The abstracts should
be submitted electronically (in LaTeX, postscript, html, ascii, or pdf
format) to: Submission have to be in English, which
is the workshop language. For the accepted talks, a LaTeX style will
be made available.


Abstracts due: May 10th
Acceptance notice: July 5th
Final version due: August 9th
Conference: Sept 4th-6th


Susan Brennan (Stony Brook University)
Jan van Kuppevelt (IMS Stuttgart)
Stanley Peters (CSLI Stanford)
Manfred Pinkal (University of the Saarland)
Enric Vallduvi (Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona) 


Johan Bos and Colin Matheson (joint chairs), Ellen Bard, David Beaver,
Anton Benz, Peter Bosch, Robin Cooper, Claire Gardent, Jonathan
Ginzburg, Joris Hulstijn, Yasuhiro Katagiri, Jan van Kuppevelt, Alex
Lascarides, Oliver Lemon, Ian Lewin, Johanna Moore, Paul Piwek,
Massimo Poesio, Hannes Rieser, Rob van der Sandt, Frank Schilder,
David Traum, Bonnie Webber, Henk Zeevat.


The workshop will take place at Edinburgh University. The local
organizers are Johan Bos, Colin Matheson, and Johanna Moore.


Information about Edinburgh University: News
about the conference will be posted on the workshop's Web page at Send email to for
questions about local arrangements.

Previous workshops in this series include:

MunDial'97 (Munich)
Twendial'98 (Twente)
Amstelogue'99 (Amsterdam)
Gotalog'00 (Gothenburg)
Bidialog'01 (Bielefeld) 
Mail to author|Respond to list|Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue