LINGUIST List 13.682

Wed Mar 13 2002

Media: Electronic Conf/Lang & Culture

Editor for this issue: Karen Milligan <karenlinguistlist.org>


Directory

  1. Scott McGinnis, Electronic conference: "Language & Culture in the Digital Age",March 21, 2002

Message 1: Electronic conference: "Language & Culture in the Digital Age",March 21, 2002

Date: Fri, 8 Mar 2002 17:19:45 -0500
From: Scott McGinnis <smcginnisnflc.org>
Subject: Electronic conference: "Language & Culture in the Digital Age",March 21, 2002

Join "Language & Culture in the Digital Age" 
Get Ready2Net on Thursday, March 21 2002

Register at: http://csumb.edu/ready2net/
Available on Ku-band Analog Satellite & Streaming Media

Produced in partnership with the Digital Stream Conference & CSU
Monterey Bay 
Program Length: 90 minutes
2:00 p.m.-3:30 p.m. ET
1:00 p.m.-2:30 p.m. CT
12:00 p.m.-1:30 p.m. MT
11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m. PT
9:00 a.m.-10:30 a.m. HST
Satellite Test Signal 30 minutes Prior to Air
You must Re-Register to Receive the new Satellite Coordinates

How might strategic language requirements and higher education interests
converge? Should higher education be concerned about the shortages of
multi-lingual speakers? Who sets the standards and where should the
funding come from? If our K-12 students do not learn the value of a
second language, can we expect them to embrace language learning later
in life? Does a national language policy make sense? Where does
technology fit in language acquisition programs? What new technologies
can we look forward to? 

Produced in cooperation with the Digital Stream Conference & CSU
Monterey Bay. Target Audience: K-12 & higher education, language
teaching faculty, political science faculty, government agencies &
nonprofit organizations.

HOST-CASEY GREEN-Founder & Director, Campus Computing Project
- Sabine Atwell, Dean of the Proficiency Standards Division, Defense
Language Institute 
- Frank Borchardt, Professor, Duke University
- Richard Brecht, Director of the National Foreign Language Center 
- Elizabeth Hoffman, Distance Learning Consultant, Nebraska Dep't. of
Education
- Everette Jordan, National Security Agency � Prof. Bernd R�schoff,
Essen University, President EUROCALL 
- Bogdan B. Sagatov, Master Linguist & Senior Language
Instructor/Developer for the Department of Defense 
- Duarte Silva, Executive Director of the California Foreign Language
Project, in the Center for Educational Research in the School of
Education at Stanford University 
- Y. H. Tohsaku, Professor & Director, Language Program University of
California, San Diego
Mail to author|Respond to list|Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue