* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
LINGUIST List logo Eastern Michigan University Wayne State University *
* People & Organizations * Jobs * Calls & Conferences * Publications * Language Resources * Text & Computer Tools * Teaching & Learning * Mailing Lists * Search *
* *
LINGUIST List 21.3601

Sat Sep 11 2010

FYI: Call for Submissions: Greenberg Award 2011

Editor for this issue: Elyssa Winzeler <elyssalinguistlist.org>

To post to LINGUIST, use our convenient web form at http://linguistlist.org/LL/posttolinguist.cfm.
        1.    Jean-Christophe Verstraete, Call for Submissions: Greenberg Award 2011

Message 1: Call for Submissions: Greenberg Award 2011
Date: 09-Sep-2010
From: Jean-Christophe Verstraete <jcvarts.kuleuven.be>
Subject: Call for Submissions: Greenberg Award 2011
E-mail this message to a friend

The Joseph Greenberg Award 2011

The Association for Linguistic Typology's Joseph Greenberg Award recognizes and
honours the best piece of typological research embodied in a doctoral
dissertation or equivalent in 2009-2010. Theses are eligible if they were
accepted by a university between 1 January 2009 and 31 December 2010. The award
will consist of payment of travel, per diem expenses and registration fee to
attend the ALT IX Conference, to be held in Hong Kong, July 21-24, 2011, and to
present a synopsis or element of the prize-winning work as a plenary lecture at
that meeting.

The Joseph Greenberg Award was named to remember Joseph Greenberg's (1915-2001)
fundamental contributions to typology and the interest he showed in encouraging
young researchers. Between 1998 and 2006, it was known as the 'ALT Junior Award'.

To be eligible, those submitting their dissertation must be members of the
Association for Linguistic Typology (ALT). They are asked to submit their
manuscript by email in pdf format, with all non-standard fonts in Unicode, to
the chair of the jury, to arrive no later than January 31st 2011. If this proves
technically difficult, the candidate is asked to discuss the problem with the
chair. A jury, consisting of about ten ALT members, will be appointed by ALT's
president, appropriate to the work submitted.

The chair will be:

Isabelle Bril
Laboratoire LACITO
7, rue Guy Môquet (bât. D)
94801 Villejuif Cedex

Linguistic Field(s): Typology
Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue

Page Updated: 11-Sep-2010

Supported in part by the National Science Foundation       About LINGUIST    |   Contact Us       ILIT Logo
While the LINGUIST List makes every effort to ensure the linguistic relevance of sites listed on its pages, it cannot vouch for their contents.