* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
LINGUIST List logo Eastern Michigan University Wayne State University *
* People & Organizations * Jobs * Calls & Conferences * Publications * Language Resources * Text & Computer Tools * Teaching & Learning * Mailing Lists * Search *
* *

LINGUIST List 23.1661

Sun Apr 01 2012

Calls: Linguistic Theories/South Korea

Editor for this issue: Alison Zaharee <alisonlinguistlist.org>

LINGUIST is pleased to announce an exciting service: Easy Abstracts! Easy Abs is a free abstract submission and review facility designed to help conference organizers and reviewers accept and process abstracts online. Just go to: http://www.linguistlist.org/confcustom, and begin your conference customization process today! With Easy Abstracts, submission and review will be as easy as 1-2-3!
Date: 01-Apr-2012
From: Jong-Bok Kim <jongbokkhu.ac.kr>
Subject: 19th International Conference on Head-Driven Phrase Structure Grammar
E-mail this message to a friend

Full Title: 19th International Conference on Head-Driven Phrase Structure Grammar
Short Title: HPSG-2012

Date: 18-Jul-2012 - 21-Jul-2012
Location: Daejeon, Korea, South
Contact Person: Byong-Rae Ryu
Meeting Email: < click here to access email >
Web Site: http://linguistics.cnu.ac.kr/hpsg/

Linguistic Field(s): Linguistic Theories

Call Deadline: 10-Apr-2012

Meeting Description:

The 19th International Conference on Head-Driven Phrase Structure Grammar, HPSG-2012, will take place in July 18-21, 2012, at Chungnam National University in Daejeon, located in the center of South Korea.

Invited Speakers:

Hans Uszkoreit (Saarland University & DFKI)

Related Events:

The main conference will take place in Daejeon, South Korea, on July 20-21, 2012. It will be preceded by a day of tutorials for 'Experimental Design for Linguists' on July 18 given by Philip Hofmeister (University of Essex) and a workshop on Ellipsis and Formal Grammar on July 19. There is a separate call for papers for the workshop.

Hosted by Chungnam National University

Final Call for Papers:

Abstracts are solicited for presentations which address linguistic, foundational, or computational issues relating to the framework of Head-Driven Phrase Structure Grammar.

Conference Format:

There will be two sessions: a main session, with 30 minute presentations, and a poster session. The poster session is intended as a means of encouraging the presentation of work that is not yet fully developed. Prospective speakers may submit either a 5 page abstract for the main session, or a 2 page abstract for the poster session. Abstracts submitted initially for the main session may be accepted, at the discretion of the program committee, for presentation in the poster session instead.


We will use an online submission system. All abstracts should be submitted via Linguist List's Easy Abstracts System:


Abstracts will be reviewed anonymously by at least two reviewers. Abstracts should not include the authors' names and authors are asked to avoid self-references. Please direct any questions to the Program Committee Chair, Jong-Bok Kim, at hpsg2012programgmail.com.

Important Dates:

Extended abstract submission deadline: April 10, 2012
Notification of acceptance: April 27, 2012
Conference: July 18-21, 2012


The conference proceedings will be published online by CSLI publications. A call for contributions to the publications will be issued after the conference. Proceedings of previous conferences are available at http://csli-publications.stanford.edu/HPSG/. The final deadline for receipt of written versions of conference papers is November 10, 2012.

Submission Website: http://linguistlist.org/confcustom/hpsg2012
Conference Website: http://linguistics.cnu.ac.kr/hpsg/

Program Committee:

Anne Abeille, Doug Arnold, Emily M. Bender, Francis Bond, Oliver Bonami, Bob Borsley, Rui Chaves, Ann Copestake, Berthold Crysmann, Elisabet Engdahl, Dan Flickinger, Jong-Bok Kim (chair), Tibor Kiss, Jean-Pierre Koenig, Valia Kordoni, Bob Levine, Laura Michaelis, Stefan Mueller, Tsuneko Nakazawa, Jeff Runner, Ivan Sag, Manfred Sailer, Frank Van Eynde, Gert Webelhuth, Eun-Jung Yoo, Stephen Wechsler, Shuichi Yatabe

Local Organizing Committee Chair:

Byong-Rae Ryu (Chungnam National University, hpsg2012gmail.com)

Read more issues|LINGUIST home page|Top of issue

Page Updated: 01-Apr-2012

Supported in part by the National Science Foundation       About LINGUIST    |   Contact Us       ILIT Logo
While the LINGUIST List makes every effort to ensure the linguistic relevance of sites listed on its pages, it cannot vouch for their contents.