Publishing Partner: Cambridge University Press CUP Extra Publisher Login
amazon logo
More Info


New from Oxford University Press!

ad

Oxford Handbook of Corpus Phonology

Edited by Jacques Durand, Ulrike Gut, and Gjert Kristoffersen

Offers the first detailed examination of corpus phonology and serves as a practical guide for researchers interested in compiling or using phonological corpora


New from Cambridge University Press!

ad

The Languages of the Jews: A Sociolinguistic History

By Bernard Spolsky

A vivid commentary on Jewish survival and Jewish speech communities that will be enjoyed by the general reader, and is essential reading for students and researchers interested in the study of Middle Eastern languages, Jewish studies, and sociolinguistics.


New from Brill!

ad

Indo-European Linguistics

New Open Access journal on Indo-European Linguistics is now available!


Summary Details


Query:   Introductory syntax
Author:  Nkonko Kamwangamalu
Submitter Email:  click here to access email
Linguistic LingField(s):   Syntax

Summary:   Dear Everyone

Last December I posted a request on the List for suggestions on an
accessible introductory syntax textbook. I would like to thank the
List for making it possible for me to unknowingly kill two birds with
one stone: I have not only received very useful suggestions, for which
I am grateful, but I have also renewed contacts with former University
of Illinois classmates who for the past 10 years didn't know where I
was. Many thanks to the following for responding to my call for
assistance. Sorry if I have inadvertently left out a name.

Kathleen Ward <kmward@ucdavis.edu>
Dorothea Kiefer <kiefer@ling.uni-potsdam.de>
Alan Smith <alan.smith@ncl.ac.uk>
James Yoon <jhsyoon@plaza.snu.ac.kr>
Jason Pontius <japontiu@midway.uchicago.edu>
Hidekazu Suzuki <hidekazu@mit.edu>
Charles T Scott <ctscott@facstaff.wisc.edu>
Carl Mills <carl.mills@uc.edu>
James F. Bisso <jbisso@us.oracle.com>
Roderick A. Jacobs <rjacobs@hawaii.edu>
Michael Newman <mn24@is6.nyu.edu>
Ian Crookston <i.crookston@lmu.ac.uk>
Billy Clark <b.clark@mdx.ac.uk>
Julio Felix-Bradsderfer <felixbr@gusun.acc.georgetown.edu>
Ivan Birks <ibirks@pratique.fr>

The textbooks that have been recommended are listed below, with in
parentheses the number of linguists who have recommended them.

C. L. Baker. 1988/95. English syntax. MIT Press (2)
J. McCawley.1988. The syntactic phenomena of English. University of
Chicago Press (1).
R. Freidin. 1992. Foundations of Generative Syntax. MIT Press. (1)
N. Burton-Roberts. 1988. Analyzing sentences. Longman (2)
J.A. Roderick. 1995. English syntax. NY: OUP (2).
N. Fabb. 1994. Sentence structure. Routledge (3)
R. Wardhaugh. 1996. Understanding English grammar. Blackwell. (1)
E K Brown and J Miller. 1991. Syntax: A linguistic introduction to
sentence structure. Harper Collins (1)
L. Haegeman. 1994. Introduction to Government and Binding Theory.
Oxford: Blackwell. (2)
N Chomsky. 1996. Universal Grammar. Oxford: Blackwell (1)

Once again, thank you all for your assistance.

Nkonko M Kamwangamalu
Department of Linguistics
University of Natal
Durban, South Africa.
___________________________________________________________
Nkonko Kamwangamalu <kamwanga@mtb.und.ac.za>
Dept of Linguistics Phone +27 (0)31 260 1123
University of Natal
Private Bag X10 http://www.und.ac.za/ling/kamwanga.html
DALBRIDGE 4014
___________________________________________________________

LL Issue: 8.79
Date Posted: 22-Jan-1997
Original Query: Read original query


Back

Sums main page