Featured Linguist!

Jost Gippert: Our Featured Linguist!

"Buenos dias", "buenas noches" -- this was the first words in a foreign language I heard in my life, as a three-year old boy growing up in developing post-war Western Germany, where the first gastarbeiters had arrived from Spain. Fascinated by the strange sounds, I tried to get to know some more languages, the only opportunity being TV courses of English and French -- there was no foreign language education for pre-teen school children in Germany yet in those days. Read more



Donate Now | Visit the Fund Drive Homepage

Amount Raised:

$34168

Still Needed:

$40832

Can anyone overtake Syntax in the Subfield Challenge ?

Grad School Challenge Leader: University of Washington


Publishing Partner: Cambridge University Press CUP Extra Publisher Login
amazon logo
More Info


New from Oxford University Press!

ad

What is English? And Why Should We Care?

By: Tim William Machan

To find some answers Tim Machan explores the language's present and past, and looks ahead to its futures among the one and a half billion people who speak it. His search is fascinating and important, for definitions of English have influenced education and law in many countries and helped shape the identities of those who live in them.


New from Cambridge University Press!

ad

Medical Writing in Early Modern English

Edited by Irma Taavitsainen and Paivi Pahta

This volume provides a new perspective on the evolution of the special language of medicine, based on the electronic corpus of Early Modern English Medical Texts, containing over two million words of medical writing from 1500 to 1700.


Summary Details


Query:   Introductory syntax
Author:  Nkonko Kamwangamalu
Submitter Email:  click here to access email
Linguistic LingField(s):   Syntax

Summary:   Dear Everyone

Last December I posted a request on the List for suggestions on an
accessible introductory syntax textbook. I would like to thank the
List for making it possible for me to unknowingly kill two birds with
one stone: I have not only received very useful suggestions, for which
I am grateful, but I have also renewed contacts with former University
of Illinois classmates who for the past 10 years didn't know where I
was. Many thanks to the following for responding to my call for
assistance. Sorry if I have inadvertently left out a name.

Kathleen Ward <kmward@ucdavis.edu>
Dorothea Kiefer <kiefer@ling.uni-potsdam.de>
Alan Smith <alan.smith@ncl.ac.uk>
James Yoon <jhsyoon@plaza.snu.ac.kr>
Jason Pontius <japontiu@midway.uchicago.edu>
Hidekazu Suzuki <hidekazu@mit.edu>
Charles T Scott <ctscott@facstaff.wisc.edu>
Carl Mills <carl.mills@uc.edu>
James F. Bisso <jbisso@us.oracle.com>
Roderick A. Jacobs <rjacobs@hawaii.edu>
Michael Newman <mn24@is6.nyu.edu>
Ian Crookston <i.crookston@lmu.ac.uk>
Billy Clark <b.clark@mdx.ac.uk>
Julio Felix-Bradsderfer <felixbr@gusun.acc.georgetown.edu>
Ivan Birks <ibirks@pratique.fr>

The textbooks that have been recommended are listed below, with in
parentheses the number of linguists who have recommended them.

C. L. Baker. 1988/95. English syntax. MIT Press (2)
J. McCawley.1988. The syntactic phenomena of English. University of
Chicago Press (1).
R. Freidin. 1992. Foundations of Generative Syntax. MIT Press. (1)
N. Burton-Roberts. 1988. Analyzing sentences. Longman (2)
J.A. Roderick. 1995. English syntax. NY: OUP (2).
N. Fabb. 1994. Sentence structure. Routledge (3)
R. Wardhaugh. 1996. Understanding English grammar. Blackwell. (1)
E K Brown and J Miller. 1991. Syntax: A linguistic introduction to
sentence structure. Harper Collins (1)
L. Haegeman. 1994. Introduction to Government and Binding Theory.
Oxford: Blackwell. (2)
N Chomsky. 1996. Universal Grammar. Oxford: Blackwell (1)

Once again, thank you all for your assistance.

Nkonko M Kamwangamalu
Department of Linguistics
University of Natal
Durban, South Africa.
___________________________________________________________
Nkonko Kamwangamalu <kamwanga@mtb.und.ac.za>
Dept of Linguistics Phone +27 (0)31 260 1123
University of Natal
Private Bag X10 http://www.und.ac.za/ling/kamwanga.html
DALBRIDGE 4014
___________________________________________________________

LL Issue: 8.79
Date Posted: 22-Jan-1997
Original Query: Read original query


Back

Sums main page