Featured Linguist!

Jost Gippert: Our Featured Linguist!

"Buenos dias", "buenas noches" -- this was the first words in a foreign language I heard in my life, as a three-year old boy growing up in developing post-war Western Germany, where the first gastarbeiters had arrived from Spain. Fascinated by the strange sounds, I tried to get to know some more languages, the only opportunity being TV courses of English and French -- there was no foreign language education for pre-teen school children in Germany yet in those days. Read more



Donate Now | Visit the Fund Drive Homepage

Amount Raised:

$34724

Still Needed:

$40276

Can anyone overtake Syntax in the Subfield Challenge ?

Grad School Challenge Leader: University of Washington


Publishing Partner: Cambridge University Press CUP Extra Publisher Login
amazon logo
More Info


New from Oxford University Press!

ad

What is English? And Why Should We Care?

By: Tim William Machan

To find some answers Tim Machan explores the language's present and past, and looks ahead to its futures among the one and a half billion people who speak it. His search is fascinating and important, for definitions of English have influenced education and law in many countries and helped shape the identities of those who live in them.


New from Cambridge University Press!

ad

Medical Writing in Early Modern English

Edited by Irma Taavitsainen and Paivi Pahta

This volume provides a new perspective on the evolution of the special language of medicine, based on the electronic corpus of Early Modern English Medical Texts, containing over two million words of medical writing from 1500 to 1700.


Summary Details


Query:   Natural language dialogue systems evaluation
Author:  gas0 Null
Submitter Email:  click here to access email
Linguistic LingField(s):   Computational Linguistics

Summary:   Ramon Lopez-Cozar Delgado
Dpto. Electronica y Tecnologia de Computadores
Universidad de Granada
18071 Granada, Espana (Spain)
e-mail: gas0@elvira.ugr.es
Fax: +34-58-243230

Dear LINGUIST Subscribers,

A few weeks ago I sent out an E-mail inquiry on
natural language dialogue systems evaluation.
I would like to thank the following people for
their kind replies. I enclose a summary of their
answers.

Nicholas Ostler - nostler@chibcha.demon.co.uk
Jean Caelen - Jean.Caelen@imag.fr
Frederik Fouvry - fouvry@llsun10.essex.ac.uk
Hugo Zaragoza - Hugo.Zaragoza@laforia.ibp.fr
Gerhard Hanrieder - hanriede@vs.dasa.de
Gavin E Churcher - gavin@scs.leeds.ac.uk
Philips Bouwman - bouwman@pfa.research.philips.com
Eric Atwell - eric@scs.leeds.ac.uk
Matthias Denecke - denecke@cs.cmu.edu
Robert John Gaizauskas - R.Gaizauskas@dcs.shef.ac.uk
Boda Peter - peter.boda@research.nokia.com
Doug Arnold - doug@essex.ac.uk
Bill Manaris - manaris@ucs.usl.edu
Maria Teresa Taboada - taboada+@andrew.cmu.edu
Alan Biermann - awb@cs.duke.edu
Mai Kuha - mkuha@indiana.edu
Hans Dybkjaer - dybkjaer@cog.ruc.dk

Special thanks to Nicholas Ostler for sending "Lying in
Wait at the Heart of the Web", a very interesting
report on the development of linguistic technology in
Japan.

The summary follows:

******* Interesting www sites ***********************

- The DIET project:
http://www2.echo.lu/langeng/en/le3/diet/diet.html

- Dialogue systems evaluation
http://xxx.lanl.gov/cmp-lg

- A Generic Template to evaluate integrated components
in spoken dialogue
http://www.scs.leed.ac.uk/gavin/papers/acl.htm

- PARADISE: A framework for Evaluating Spoken Dialogue
Agents
http://xxx.lanl.gov/abs/cmp-lg/?9704004

- Metrics for evaluating Dialogue Strategies in a Spoken
Language System
http://xxx.lanl.gov/abs/cmp-lg/?9612003

- EAGLES
http://www.ilc.pi.cnr.it/EAGLES/home.html

- Tests suites for Natural Language Processing
http://clwww.essex.ac.uk/group/projects/tsnlp/

- "End-to-end evaluation in Janus: a speech-to-speech
translation system"
http://www.is.cs.cmu.edu/ISL.speech.publications.html

********** Interesting ftp addresses *****************

ftp://ftp.ilc.pi.cnr.it/pub/eagles/evaluation/ewg95.ps
ftp://agora.leeds.ac.uk/scs/doc/reports/1997/97_06.ps.Z

************ Interesting reports **********************

- Neal J. Feit E. et al (1992): "An Evaluation Methodology
for Natural Processing Systems", Final Technical Report,
Rome Laboratory.

*************** Interesting books *********************

- "Evaluating Natural Language Processing Systems"
Karen Sparck-Jones and Julia Galliers, Springer, 1995

- "An Architecture for Voice-Dialog"
Smith, Hipp and Biermann,
Computational Linguistics, vol. 21, no. 3

Best regards,
Ramon.

LL Issue: 8.778
Date Posted: 24-May-1997
Original Query: Read original query


Back

Sums main page