Featured Linguist!

Jost Gippert: Our Featured Linguist!

"Buenos dias", "buenas noches" -- this was the first words in a foreign language I heard in my life, as a three-year old boy growing up in developing post-war Western Germany, where the first gastarbeiters had arrived from Spain. Fascinated by the strange sounds, I tried to get to know some more languages, the only opportunity being TV courses of English and French -- there was no foreign language education for pre-teen school children in Germany yet in those days. Read more



Donate Now | Visit the Fund Drive Homepage

Amount Raised:

$34674

Still Needed:

$40326

Can anyone overtake Syntax in the Subfield Challenge ?

Grad School Challenge Leader: University of Washington


Publishing Partner: Cambridge University Press CUP Extra Publisher Login
amazon logo
More Info


New from Oxford University Press!

ad

What is English? And Why Should We Care?

By: Tim William Machan

To find some answers Tim Machan explores the language's present and past, and looks ahead to its futures among the one and a half billion people who speak it. His search is fascinating and important, for definitions of English have influenced education and law in many countries and helped shape the identities of those who live in them.


New from Cambridge University Press!

ad

Medical Writing in Early Modern English

Edited by Irma Taavitsainen and Paivi Pahta

This volume provides a new perspective on the evolution of the special language of medicine, based on the electronic corpus of Early Modern English Medical Texts, containing over two million words of medical writing from 1500 to 1700.


Summary Details


Query:   Sum: Possession in Hebrew
Author:  Simona Herdan
Submitter Email:  click here to access email
Linguistic LingField(s):   Semantics
Syntax

Summary:   First I would like to thank everyone who took the time to resond to my
query. I was simply overwhelmed with responses and it took me quite a
while to make up a summary. Here's a list of everyone who replied (my
apologies to anyone I might have missed!)

Glenn Ayres <gayres@alpha.sg.inter.edu>
Farooq Babrakzai <babrak@hawaii.edu>
Donn Bayard <ANTH03@rivendell.otago.ac.nz>
Andolin Eguzkitza Bilbao <frpegbia@vc.ehu.es>
Francis Bond <bond@cslab.kecl.ntt.co.jp>
Jean-Frangois Bourdin <jbourdinf@magic.fr>
Joel Boyd <joel.boyd@wmich.edu>
Benjamin T. Bruening <muawiya@MIT.EDU>
Chris Butler <cbutler@mx4.redestb.es>
Gaby Charing <gcharing@dial.pipex.com>
Gema Chocano gema.chocano@uam.es
Vern Curts <vcurts@midco.net>
Nikolai A. Dobronravin <nikolai@ND1506.spb.edu>
Kathleen Evans-Romaine <evans-rk@ohio.edu>
Gisbert Fanselow fanselow@rz.uni-potsdam.de
Stephane Goyette s455152@aix1.uottawa.ca
Mohamed Guerssel <Guerssel.mohamed@uqam.ca>
Karen A. Van Hoek <kvh@umich.edu>
Jussi Hakokari <juveha@utu.fi>
Mark Irwin <padz@ilcs.hokudai.ac.jp>
Natalia Kondrashova <nyk1@cornell.edu>
Rina Kreitman kreitman@netvision.net.il
Richard Laurent <laurent28@hotmail.com>
John Peterson John.Peterson@germanistik.uni-muenchen.de
Seongha Rhee <seongha@shinbiro.com>
Deborah D K Ruuskanen <druuskan@cc.helsinki.fi>
Geoffrey Sampson <geoffs@cogs.susx.ac.uk>
Ellen Schur <ellens@oumail.openu.ac.il>
Robin Setton robset@easynet.fr
Alexandra Terano <cassyterno@yahoo.com>
Yishai Tobin yishai@bgumail.bgu.ac.il
Takae Tsujioka <tsujiokt@gusun.georgetown.edu>
Theo Vennemann <tvn@cis.uni-muenchen.de>
Remy Viredaz <remy.viredaz@span.ch>
Maurice Williams <mauriceawilliams@hotmail.com>

For those who don't remember my query, I've pasted the original query here:

>I am gathering information for a project on various aspects of
>possession in Hebrew. What I find most interesting is the use of
>"there is/are" to render the present tense of "to have" and of the
>forms of "to be" for the other tenses. These verbal forms are followed
>by a preposition indicating goal/direction. So, literally, a sentence
>like "I had a book" would be translated as "A book WAS TO ME".
>
>I wonder if such correspondences between "to have" and "to be" exist
>in other languages too. I would very much appreciate any help in
>finding references to studies dealing with possession in general and
>also with this particular aspect of Hebrew or of another language.

The relationship between existence and possession seems to be quite
wide-spread cross-linguistically. As I have been told and noticed
myself from the examples I got, languages that lexicalize possession
by means of a verb similar to English "have" are quite a
"minority". Expressing possession as abstract location appears to be
cognitively salient, phenomenon which has already been studied. Some
of the languages that behave more or less like Hebrew are (in no
particular order):

Japanese
Finnish
Russian
Welsh and Insular Celtic Languages
Latin
Classical Persian
Chinese
Korean
Indo-iranian
Hindi
Classical Arabic
Turkish
Berber
Hausa

I have received lots of examples and references which are all very
interesting and helpful, which I won't mention here because the list
is too long. Anyone who is interested in the subject can contact me
and receive the list and the examples. Once again, thanks everyone.

Simona Herdan
Linguistics Student
University of Bucharest, Romania
simona@interplus.ro

LL Issue: 10.847
Date Posted: 04-Jun-1999
Original Query: Read original query


Back

Sums main page