Publishing Partner: Cambridge University Press CUP Extra Publisher Login
amazon logo
More Info


New from Oxford University Press!

ad

Oxford Handbook of Corpus Phonology

Edited by Jacques Durand, Ulrike Gut, and Gjert Kristoffersen

Offers the first detailed examination of corpus phonology and serves as a practical guide for researchers interested in compiling or using phonological corpora


New from Cambridge University Press!

ad

The Languages of the Jews: A Sociolinguistic History

By Bernard Spolsky

A vivid commentary on Jewish survival and Jewish speech communities that will be enjoyed by the general reader, and is essential reading for students and researchers interested in the study of Middle Eastern languages, Jewish studies, and sociolinguistics.


New from Brill!

ad

Indo-European Linguistics

New Open Access journal on Indo-European Linguistics is now available!


Summary Details


Query:   Relation between grammar and lexicon in SLA
Author:  Mikael Parkvall
Submitter Email:  click here to access email
Linguistic LingField(s):   Language Acquisition

Summary:   About two months ago, I asked the Linguist List members whether there
existed any studies that related the size of the grammatical competence and
the vocabulary size in SLA. My question was also forwarded by a friend to
the SLART-L second language acquisition list.

I received thirteen responses, the vast majority through SLART-L rather
than through Linguist. They were of the following five basic types:

* No, but there are such studies on FIRST language acquisition (2
respondents).
* No, I am familiar with SLA literature, but have never seen any such
studies (5).
* No, and my personal experience suggests that there is no such connexion (2).
* No, but here are some reflexions on the subject (2)
* Yes, Paul Meara has documented such a connexion, but I have no precise
reference to offer (1).

I also got some references to works that were said not deal with the
precise subject of my query, but with allegedly related topics. I must
admit that I haven't checked them out yet, but anyone interested can write
to me for the precise references.

The reference to Paul Meara sounds interesting. It was afterwards suggested
that the paper in question might be one of the following two:

Meara, Paul (1992): Network structures and vocabulary acquisition in a
foreign language. In: Arnaud P. and H. Bejoint (Eds.), Vocabulary and
Applied Linguistics. London: Macmillan. 62-70

Meara, Paul (1996): The dimensions of lexical competence. In: G. Brown, K.
Malmkjaer and J. Williams. (Eds). Peformance and Competence in Second
Language Acquisition. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

...but neither is available to me at the time of writing this.


The following responded to my query, for which I am of course grateful:

Anette Nielsen <linanet@stud.hum.au.dk>
Keith Folse <folse@luna.cas.usf.edu>
Doug Cooper <doug@th.net>
Marcelo Cunha Santos <mcs@dss.inpe.br>
Jeff Siegel <jsiegel@metz.une.edu.au>
Nina Garrett <nina.garrett@yale.edu>
Greg Matheson <lang@ms.chinmin.edu.tw>
Leslie Blair <lblair@cadvision.com>
Charles Adamson <adamson@mxu.meshnet.or.jp>
Joe Hilferty <hilferty@fil.ub.es>
Johan Vanparys <Johan.Vanparys@fundp.ac.be>
Tom Leverett <leverett@siu.edu>
Klaus Brandl <brandl@mailer11.u.washington.edu>


Mikael Parkvall

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Mikael Parkvall
Institutionen f?r lingvistik
Stockholms Universitet
S-10691 STOCKHOLM

+46 (0)8 16 14 41
Fax: +46 (0)8 15 53 89

parkvall@ling.su.se

Creolist Archives: http://www.ling.su.se/Creole

LL Issue: 10.1435
Date Posted: 02-Oct-1999
Original Query: Read original query


Back

Sums main page