E-MELD Homepage University of Kansas Homepage Eastern Michigan University Homepage tilr logo

"Toward the Interoperability of Language Resources" is the topic of a workshop to be held July 13-15 at Stanford University in conjunction with the 2007 LSA Summer Institute. It will capitalize on the momentum of two workshops held in conjunction with the 2006 LSA Summer Meeting at Michigan State University: the Digital Tools Summit in Linguistics (DTSL), and the E-MELD (Electronic Metastructure for Endangered Languages Data) workshop on digital language documentation, which focused on "Tools and Standards: The State of the Art."

A major aim of both E-MELD and DTSL has been to involve an interdisciplinary group of researchers in the resolution of pressing issues in linguistic data management. E-MELD has primarily stimulated the development, evaluation and amelioration of guidelines and standards for annotation, computer-assisted lexicography, ontologies, and extant tools; DTSL focused on catalyzing the development of the next generation of tools for linguistic inquiry. In focusing on interoperability, the TILR workshop will exploit the momentum of E-MELD and DTSL to involve an even more diverse group of researchers in addressing a critical issue in the development of cyberinfrastructure for linguistics.

This meeting is intended to encourage tool developers to coordinate outputs of existing tools and to plan new tools that are extensible, modular, and renewable. If tools developed by one project can be readily adapted for other similar projects, this will not only conserve development time and effort, but also constitute major progress towards the ultimate goal of creating sustainable and accessible digital resources.

Organizing Committee


Arienne Dwyer (U of Kansas), Co-Chair
Helen Aristar-Dry (Eastern Michigan U), Co-Chair
Anthony Aristar (Eastern Michigan U)
Emily Bender (U of Washington)
Steven Bird (U of Melbourne)
Phil Cash Cash (U of Arizona)
Christopher Cieri (Linguistic Data Consortium)
Lori Levin (Carnegie Mellon U)
Geoffrey Rockwell (McMaster U)
Nick Thieberger (U of Melbourne)
Chris Manning (Stanford U)

Valid HTML 4.0 Transitional

The National Science Foundation
U of Kansas
Eastern Michigan U
The Linguist List