Featured Linguist!

Jost Gippert: Our Featured Linguist!

"Buenos dias", "buenas noches" -- this was the first words in a foreign language I heard in my life, as a three-year old boy growing up in developing post-war Western Germany, where the first gastarbeiters had arrived from Spain. Fascinated by the strange sounds, I tried to get to know some more languages, the only opportunity being TV courses of English and French -- there was no foreign language education for pre-teen school children in Germany yet in those days. Read more



Donate Now | Visit the Fund Drive Homepage

Amount Raised:

$34378

Still Needed:

$40622

Can anyone overtake Syntax in the Subfield Challenge ?

Grad School Challenge Leader: University of Washington


Publishing Partner: Cambridge University Press CUP Extra Publisher Login
amazon logo
More Info

Media: Electronic Conf/Lang & Culture

Submitter: Scott McGinnis

Submitter Email: smcginnis@nflc.org
Media Body: Join "Language & Culture in the Digital Age"
Get Ready2Net on Thursday, March 21 2002

Register at: http://csumb.edu/ready2net/
Available on Ku-band Analog Satellite & Streaming Media

Produced in partnership with the Digital Stream Conference & CSU
Monterey Bay
Program Length: 90 minutes
2:00 p.m.-3:30 p.m. ET
1:00 p.m.-2:30 p.m. CT
12:00 p.m.-1:30 p.m. MT
11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m. PT
9:00 a.m.-10:30 a.m. HST
Satellite Test Signal 30 minutes Prior to Air
You must Re-Register to Receive the new Satellite Coordinates

How might strategic language requirements and higher education interests
converge? Should higher education be concerned about the shortages of
multi-lingual speakers? Who sets the standards and where should the
funding come from? If our K-12 students do not learn the value of a
second language, can we expect them to embrace language learning later
in life? Does a national language policy make sense? Where does
technology fit in language acquisition programs? What new technologies
can we look forward to?

Produced in cooperation with the Digital Stream Conference & CSU
Monterey Bay. Target Audience: K-12 & higher education, language
teaching faculty, political science faculty, government agencies &
nonprofit organizations.

HOST-CASEY GREEN-Founder & Director, Campus Computing Projec
- Sabine Atwell, Dean of the Proficiency Standards Division, Defense
Language Institute
- Frank Borchardt, Professor, Duke University
- Richard Brecht, Director of the National Foreign Language Center
- Elizabeth Hoffman, Distance Learning Consultant, Nebraska Dep't. of
Education
- Everette Jordan, National Security Agency § Prof. Bernd Rüschoff,
Essen University, President EUROCALL
- Bogdan B. Sagatov, Master Linguist & Senior Language
Instructor/Developer for the Department of Defense
- Duarte Silva, Executive Director of the California Foreign Language
Project, in the Center for Educational Research in the School of
Education at Stanford University
- Y. H. Tohsaku, Professor & Director, Language Program University of
California, San Diego

</body>
Issue Number: 13.682
Date Posted: March 13, 2002

Back to browse media
Media main page