LINGUIST List 22.4698

Sat Nov 26 2011

Calls: Germanic, Syntax/USA

Editor for this issue: Alison Zaharee <>

        1.     Bob Frank , 27th Comparative Germanic Syntax Workshop

Message 1: 27th Comparative Germanic Syntax Workshop
Date: 25-Nov-2011
From: Bob Frank <>
Subject: 27th Comparative Germanic Syntax Workshop
E-mail this message to a friend

Full Title: 27th Comparative Germanic Syntax Workshop Short Title: CGSW27
Date: 31-May-2012 - 01-Jun-2012 Location: New Haven, Connecticut, USA Contact Person: Bob Frank
Meeting Email: < click here to access email >
Web Site:
Linguistic Field(s): Syntax

Language Family(ies): Germanic

Call Deadline: 15-Jan-2012

Meeting Description:

The 27th Comparative Germanic Syntax Workshop, which is being organized by the Linguistics Departments at Yale University and the University of Connecticut, will be held at Yale University from May 31 to June 1, 2012.

Invited Speakers:

Marcel den Dikken (CUNY Graduate Center)Caroline Heycock (University of Edinburgh)Angelika Kratzer (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)

Call for Papers:

CGSW has established a long tradition of bringing together researchers in Germanic syntax for fruitful and constructive interaction. As the name of the workshop suggests, the focus has been on the comparative syntax of the Germanic languages. In recent years, the range of work presented has been productively extended to include diachronic change and the interface between narrow syntax and other components of the grammar. CSGW27 will continue in this tradition, and we invite abstracts on these topics. In addition, this year's workshop aims to expand both outward and inward: looking outward, we invite submissions that profitably compare the syntax of Germanic and non-Germanic languages. Looking inward, we encourage submissions on micro-syntactic variation in the dialects of American English, and we anticipate holding a special session on this topic.

Talks will be 30 minutes in length with 10 additional minutes for discussion.

For details on abstract submission via EasyChair, see the CGSW27 website at:

Submission deadline: 15 January 2012Notification of acceptance: 15 March 2012


Jonathan Bobaljik, Gísli Rúnar Harðarson, Susi Wurmbrand (UConn)Bob Frank, Tim Hunter, Dennis Storoshenko, Raffaella Zanuttini (Yale)

Page Updated: 26-Nov-2011