LINGUIST List 24.5235

Mon Dec 16 2013

Calls: Text/Corpus Linguistics, Semantics, Syntax, Lexicography, Translation/France

Editor for this issue: Bryn Hauk <>

Date: 16-Dec-2013
From: Raluca Nita <>
Subject: Expressing Emotions in Corpora
E-mail this message to a friend

Full Title: Expressing Emotions in Corpora
Date: 25-Sep-2014 - 27-Sep-2014 Location: Poitiers, France Contact Person: Raluca Nita
Meeting Email: < click here to access email >
Web Site:
Linguistic Field(s): Lexicography; Semantics; Syntax; Text/Corpus Linguistics; Translation

Call Deadline: 15-Mar-2014

Meeting Description:

In recent years, linguistic research on emotions has been given new impetus. Studies both in French and in English have focussed on the definition of the concept of 'emotion' and on its syntactic, pragmatic and cognitive properties within various frameworks. Building on previous research on emotions - for instance, Balibar-Mrabti 1995 ; Plantin, Doury & Traverso 2000 ; Harkins & Wierzbicka 2001 ; Grossmann & Tutin 2005 ; Novakova & Tutin 2009 ; Plantin 2011 ; Wilson 2012 ; Baider & Cislaru 2013 ; Chuquet, Nita & Valetopoulos 2013 - this conference aims at bringing new insights on the study of emotions from the perspective of monolingual, multilingual and learner corpora.

The conference will explore four key topics:

1. Expressing emotions in monolingual and multilingual corpora
2. Expressing emotions in learner corpora
3. Expressing emotions in second-language text-books and second-language teaching
4. Emotions in dictionaries

As suggested by the title of this conference, we aim at encouraging linguistic exchange by bringing together scholars working within various approaches and conceptual frameworks in different languages.

Invited Speakers:

Cristelle Cavalla (Université Sorbonne Nouvelle - Paris 3)
Agnès Celle (Université Paris-Diderot)
Jean-Marc Dewaele (University of London)

Registration fees: 80€ (40€ for Ph. D. students)

Call for Papers:

University of Poitiers - FoReLL (EA 3816)

Presentations will last 20 minutes and will be followed by 10-minute discussions.

Important Dates:

Deadline for proposals: 15 March 2014
Notification of acceptance: 15 April 2014

Languages of the conference: English and French

Publication: A call for papers will be issued after the conference.



Abstracts should be 500 words (not including references). The following information is required:

First name LAST NAME
Postal address
The relevant key topic of the four stated above

Format: Times New Roman 12, 1.5 spacing, 3 cm margins

All contributions will be peer-reviewed anonymously by two members of the scientific committee.

Organising Committee:

R. Nita and F. Valetopoulos in collaboration with S. Hanote (UP-FoReLL), R. Kiyitsioglou-Vlachou (AUTH-DLL), E. Lamprou (UCY), M.-H. Lay (UP-FoReLL), J. Rançon (UP-FoReLL), R. Martí Solano (UL-FRED)

Scientific Committee:

Paul Cappeau (Université de Poitiers, FoReLL)
Agnès Celle (Université Paris-Diderot)
Hélène Chuquet (Université de Poitiers, FoReLL)
Jean Chuquet (Université de Poitiers, FoReLL)
Georgetta Cislaru (Université Sorbonne Nouvelle - Paris 3)
Jean-Louis Duchet (Université de Poitiers, FoReLL)
Stéphanie Gobet (Université de Poitiers, FoReLL)
Pascale Gouteraux (Université Paris-Diderot)
Simos Grammenidis (Université Aristote de Thessaloniki, Grèce)
Sylvie Hanote (Université de Poitiers, FoReLL)
Jean-Charles Khalifa (Université de Poitiers, FoReLL)
Rinetta Kiyitsioglou-Vlachou (Université Aristote de Thessaloniki, Grèce)
Efi Lamprou (Université de Chypre, Chypre)
Marie-Hélène Lay (Université de Poitiers, FoReLL)
Laure Lansari (Université Paris-Diderot)
Marie-Aude Lefer (Institut libre Marie Haps, Bruxelles, Belgique)
Nur Logie (Université d'Istanbul, Turquie)
Ramón Martí Solano (Université de Limoges, FRED)
Raluca Nita (Université de Poitiers, FoReLL)
Pascale Okamura-Trevisiol (Université de Poitiers, FoReLL)
Thierry Olive (CeRCA - UMR 7295)
Ewa Pilecka (Université de Varsovie, Pologne)
Julie Rancon (Université de Poitiers, FoReLL)
Nana Sioupi (Université Aristote de Thessaloniki, Grèce)
Freiderikos Valetopoulos (Université de Poitiers, FoReLL)
Jolanta Zajac (Université de Varsovie, Pologne)

Page Updated: 16-Dec-2013