LINGUIST List 25.4193

Thu Oct 23 2014

Calls: Historical Linguistics; Sociolinguistics/ Journal of Historical Sociolinguistics (Jrnl)

Editor for this issue: Evgeny Kim <>

Date: 23-Oct-2014
From: Linda Steglich <>
Subject: Historical Linguistics; Sociolinguistics/ Journal of Historical Sociolinguistics (Jrnl)
E-mail this message to a friend

Full Title: Journal of Historical Sociolinguistics

Linguistic Field(s): Historical Linguistics; Sociolinguistics

New journal in 2015

Journal of Historical Sociolinguistics

Edited by Anita Auer, Catharina Peersman, Gijsbert Rutten, Rik Vosters

Published by De Gruyter Mouton


The Journal of Historical Sociolinguistics (JHSL) is a double-blind peer- reviewed forum for research into the social history of language. We welcome original contributions (both linguistic and interdisciplinary) from young and established scholars alike on aspects of language and society in the past including (but not limited to) the social embedding of language variation and change, issues of language contact and conflict, historical multilingualism, the social stratification of writing skills, the development of language norms and the impact of language ideologies. JHSL also publishes book reviews of recent work in these domains. Both the managing editorial team and the editorial board are members of the Historical Sociolinguistics Network.

JHSL is currently accepting submissions. Manuscripts should be submitted to Managing Editor Gijsbert Rutten at

Anita Auer, Université de Lausanne, Switzerland; Catharina Peersman, Sheffield University, UK; Gijsbert Rutten [Managing Editor], University of Leiden, The Netherlands; Rik Vosters, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

Review Editor
Simon Pickl, Universität Salzburg, Austria

Founding Editor
Wim Vandenbussche, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

Editorial Board
Jeroen Darquennes (Université de Namur, Belgium)
Stephan Elspaß (Universität Salzburg, Austria)
Susan Fitzmaurice (University of Sheffield, UK)
Kristine Horner (University of Sheffield, UK)
Brian D. Joseph (Ohio State University, USA)
Nils Langer (University of Bristol, UK)
Martyn Lyons (University of New South Wales, Australia)
France Martineau (Université d'Ottawa, Canada)
Terttu Nevalainen (University of Helsinki, Finland)
Joachim Scharloth (Technische Universität Dresden, Germany)
Hiroyuki Takada (University of Tokyo, Japan)
José del Valle (City University of New York, USA)
Laura Wright (University of Cambridge, UK)

Page Updated: 23-Oct-2014