LINGUIST List 25.937

Tue Feb 25 2014

FYI: E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize: Call for Nominations

Editor for this issue: Uliana Kazagasheva <>

Date: 25-Feb-2014
From: Ann Copestake <>
Subject: E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize: Call for Nominations
E-mail this message to a friend

Since 2002, FoLLI (the Association for Logic, Language, and Information, has awarded the E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize to outstanding dissertations in the fields of Logic, Language, and Information. We invite submissions for the best dissertation which resulted in a Ph.D. degree awarded in 2013. The dissertations will be judged on technical depth and strength, originality, and impact made in at least two of three fields of Logic, Language, and Computation. Interdisciplinarity is an important feature of the theses competing for the E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize.

Who qualifies:
Nominations of candidates are admitted who were awarded a Ph.D. degree in the areas of Logic, Language, or Information between January 1st, 2013 and December 31st, 2013. Theses must be written in English; however, the Committee accepts submissions of English translations of theses originally written in other languages, and for which a PhD was awarded in the preceding two years (i.e. between January 1st, 2011 and December 31st, 2012). There is no restriction on the nationality of the candidate or on the university where the Ph.D. was granted.

The prize consists of:
- a certificate
- a donation of 2500 euros provided by the E.W. Beth Foundation
- an invitation to submit the thesis (or a revised version of it) to the FoLLI Publications on Logic, Language and Information (Springer). For further information on this series see the FoLLI site.

How to submit:
Only electronic submissions are accepted. The following documents are required:
1. The thesis in pdf format (ps/doc/rtf not accepted).
2. A ten-page abstract of the dissertation in pdf format.
3. A letter of nomination from the thesis supervisor. Self-nominations are not admitted: each nomination must be sponsored by the thesis supervisor. The letter of nomination should concisely describe the scope and significance of the dissertation and state when the degree was officially awarded.
4. Two additional letters of support, including at least one letter from a referee not affiliated with the academic institution that awarded the Ph.D. degree.

All documents must be submitted electronically (preferably as a zip file) to Ian Pratt-Hartmann ( Hard copy submissions are not allowed. In case of any problems with the email submission or a lack of notification within three working days, nominators should write to Ian Pratt-Hartmann.

Important dates:
Deadline for Submissions: May 5th, 2014.
Notification of Decision: July 14th, 2014.

Julian Bradfield (Edinburgh)
Wojciech Buszkowski (Poznan)
Michael Kaminski (Haifa)
Marco Kuhlmann (Lingkoping)
Larry Moss (Bloomington)
Ian Pratt-Hartmann (chair) (Manchester)
Ruy de Queiroz (Recife)
Giovanni Sambin (Padua)
Rob van der Sandt (Nijmegen)
Rineke Verbrugge (Groningen)

Linguistic Field(s): General Linguistics

Page Updated: 25-Feb-2014 25-Feb-2014