LINGUIST List 26.2961

Sun Jun 21 2015

Calls: Computational Linguistics; Morphology; Semantics; Syntax/ Linguistic Issues in Language Technology (LiLT) (Jrnl)

Editor for this issue: Andrew Lamont <>

Date: 19-Jun-2015
From: Emily M. Bender <>
Subject: Computational Linguistics; Morphology; Semantics; Syntax/ Linguistic Issues in Language Technology (LiLT) (Jrnl)
E-mail this message to a friend

Full Title: Linguistic Issues in Language Technology (LiLT)

Linguistic Field(s): Computational Linguistics; Morphology; Semantics; Syntax

Call Deadline: 31-Oct-2015

Call for Papers (Special Issue)

Linguistic Issues in Language Technology (LiLT)
Grammar Engineering: Precision Grammars

Precision grammars are encodings of linguistic knowledge in a representation that is both interpretable by humans and and usable in parsers and sentence generators, which aim to handle rare constructions as well as the more common ones.

LiLT solicits papers for a special issue on precision grammars, with a particular interest in the following topics:

- Mixed or hybrid models of statistical and precision grammars
- Gradient grammaticality in precision grammars
- The use of machine learning and treebanks in creating precision grammars
- Parsing evaluation metrics that focus on evaluating the coverage of rare phenomena
- Applications that show the importance/advantages of precision grammars;
- Handling of cross linguistic generalizations and typological information in multi-lingual projects
- Precision grammar projects on less-studied languages

The deadline for submissions is: October 31, 2015

Submissions should be sent to

There is no special format required for submissions but accepted papers need to be submitted in LATEX.

The editorial board for this issue is consists of Doug Arnold (University of Essex), Emily Bender (University of Washington), Philippe Blache (Université Aix-Marseille), Gerlof Bouma (University of Gothenburg) , Gosse Bouma (University of Groningen), Miriam Butt (University of Konstanz), Eric De La Clergerie (INRIA), Dan Flickinger (Stanford University), Jan Hajič (Charles University), Julia Hockenmaier (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Ron Kaplan (Nuance), Tracy Holloway King (Ebay), Lori Levin (Carnegie Mellon University), Detmar Meurers (University of Tübingen), Joakim Nivre (Uppsala University), Aarne Ranta (Chalmers University), Stephan Oepen (University of Oslo), Adam Przepiórkowski (Polish Academy of Sciences), Laura Rimell (Cambridge University), Victoria Rosén (University of Bergen), Louisa Sadler (University of Essex), Mark Steedman (Edinburgh University), Gertjan van Noord (University of Groningen), Annie Zaenen (Stanford University).

Page Updated: 21-Jun-2015