LINGUIST List 26.5277

Wed Nov 25 2015

Calls: Syntax, Typology/Mexico

Editor for this issue: Ashley Parker <>

Date: 25-Nov-2015
From: Lilián Guerrero <>
Subject: Syntax of the World's Languages VII
E-mail this message to a friend

Full Title: Syntax of the World's Languages VII
Short Title: SWL VII

Date: 17-Aug-2016 - 19-Aug-2016
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Contact Person: Lilián Guerrero
Meeting Email: < click here to access email >
Web Site:

Linguistic Field(s): Syntax; Typology

Call Deadline: 31-Jan-2016

Meeting Description:

In the same spirit as previous conferences in this series (SWL I – Leipzig 2004, SWL II – Lancaster 2006, SWL III – Berlin 2008, SWL IV – Lyon 2010, SWL V - Dubrovnik 2012 and SWL VI - Pavia 2014), SWL VII will provide a forum for linguists working on the syntax of less widely studied languages from a variety of perspectives.

The main purpose of the conference is to enlarge our knowledge and understanding of syntactic diversity. Contributions are expected to be based on first-hand data of individual languages or to adopt a broadly comparative perspective. The discussion of theoretical issues is appreciated to the extent that it helps to elucidate the data and is understandable without prior knowledge of the relevant theory.

All theoretical frameworks are equally welcome, and papers that adopt a diachronic or comparative perspective are also welcome, as are papers dealing with morphological or semantic issues, as long as syntactic issues also play a major role.

2nd Call for Papers:

The seventh Syntax of the World's Languages conference will take place in Mexico City, Mexico, from August 17-19, 2016. The committee welcomes submissions for 20 minute talks, which will be followed by 10 minutes of discussion. We will also offer slots for posters. We welcome papers working in all theoretical frameworks and papers that adopt a typological, diachronic or comparative perspective are also welcome, as are papers dealing with morphological or semantic issues, as long as syntactic issues also play a major role.

Each individual may submit up to one single authored contribution and one co-authored/joint contribution. We have reserved an extra day following the conference, August 20th, for individual workshops. Each workshop organizer is entirely responsible for its organization and logistics. If you are interested in organizing a workshop, please, contact us.

Anonymous abstracts should not exceed 2 pages including examples and references (12pt Times or Times New Roman font, single-spaced, margins of at least 2.54cm/1inch). Abstracts must be written in English, with fully glossed examples conforming to the Leipzig glossing rules. Please romanize all Asian texts, and do not use Asian character fonts unless absolutely required. The conference will be held in English.

Abstracts must be in .pdf format. The filename should be the first four words of the title. Please indicate in the system if you are submitting an abstract for a talk or a poster. Abstracts MUST be submitted electronically via the EasyAbs website, which is now open.

The deadline for the submission of all abstracts is January 31, 2016.
Applicants will be notified of acceptance by March 31, 2016.

Senior organizing committee
Volker Gast, Friedrich-Schiller University, Jena
Ekkehard König, Free University of Berlin, University of Freiburg
Sonia Cristofaro, University of Pavia
Silvia Luraghi, University of Pavia
Caterina Mauri, University of Pavia
Denis Creissels, University of Lyon
Ranko Matasovic, University of Zagreb

Abstract reading committee
Gilles Authier, David Beck, Walter Bisang, Isabelle Bril, Denis Creissels, Sonia Cristofaro, Rui Chaves, Michael Daniel, Volker Gast, Spike Gildea, Jeff Good, Antoine Guillaume, Heidi Harley, Martin Haspelmath, Guillaume Jacques, Seppo Kittila, Ekkehard Koenig, Silvia Luraghi, Ranko Matasovic, Caterina Mauri, Enrique Palancar, Francoise Rose, Hiroto Urachara, Anne Tamm, Pilar Valenzuela, Rosa Vallejos, Mark Van de Velde, Jean-Christophe Verstraete, Roberto Zavala, Fernando Zúñiga.

Local organizing committee (UNAM)
Lilián Guerrero
Carolyn O’Meara
Francisco Arellanes

Conference Email Address (for general questions):
For further information, please refer to the conference website:

Page Updated: 25-Nov-2015