LINGUIST List 27.821

Mon Feb 15 2016

Confs: Historical Ling, Text/Corpus Ling/UK

Editor for this issue: Ashley Parker <>

Date: 12-Feb-2016
From: Richard J. Whitt <>
Subject: Diachronic Corpora, Genre, and Language Change
E-mail this message to a friend

Diachronic Corpora, Genre, and Language Change

Date: 08-Apr-2016 - 09-Apr-2016
Location: Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contact: Richard J. Whitt
Contact Email: < click here to access email >
Meeting URL:

Linguistic Field(s): Historical Linguistics; Text/Corpus Linguistics

Meeting Description:

Registration is now available for the ''Diachronic Corpora, Genre and Language Change'' conference, to be held at The University of Nottingham on April 8-9, 2016 (with a conference excursion planned for April 10). Registration is now open via the web-site (, and a provisional programme is available on the site as well. The registration deadline is February 29.


The emergence of diachronic corpus linguistics in the last two decades has allowed us unprecedented access to data in the study of past stages of language and language change. Major areas of interest that have emerged in this field include the study of genre (broadly conceived) as a major factor affecting language variation and change, as well as the notion of genre as a locus of change. In addition, there has been great interest in how specific genres have (or have not) changed over time.

This international conference will bring together scholars examining the role of genre in language change, and the use of diachronic corpora to study such developments in any language.

The following have kindly agreed to give plenary lectures:

Eric Atwell (The University of Leeds)
Thomas Gloning (The University of Gießen)
Bethany Gray (Iowa State University)
Irma Taavitsainen (The University of Helsinki)

Scientific Committee:

Dawn Archer (The University of Central Lancashire)
David Denison (The University of Manchester)
Martin Durrell (The University of Manchester)
Susan Fitzmaurice (The University of Sheffield)
William Kretzschmar (The University of Georgia / The University of Glasgow)
Mark Lauersdorf (The University of Kentucky)
Anke Lüdeling (Humboldt University, Berlin)
Tony McEnery (The University of Lancaster)
Terttu Nevalainen (The University of Helsinki)

Page Updated: 15-Feb-2016