LINGUIST List 29.107

Fri Jan 05 2018

Support: Applied Linguistics: PhD, NFMLTA / NCOLCTL

Editor for this issue: Clare Harshey <>

Date: 05-Jan-2018
From: Danko Sipka <>
Subject: Applied Linguistics: PhD, NFMLTA / NCOLCTL
E-mail this message to a friend

Web Address:

Level: PhD

Institution/Organization: NFMLTA/NCOLCTL

Duties: Research

Specialty Areas: Applied Linguistics


Instituted in 2014 by the NFMLTA and the National Council of Less Commonly Taught Languages (NCOLCTL), this award supports graduate student research in the fields of applied linguistics and language education with grants focused on the teaching and learning of less commonly taught languages (all languages except English, Spanish, French, and German). The grants provide resources at any stage of dissertation writing, e.g., data gathering, data transcription, data analysis, or write-up of the findings.

Eight awards in the amount of $2,500 each will be made.

Awardees are expected to be members of NCOLCTL. The awards will be given at the Awards Ceremony during the annual NCOLCTL conference on April 21, 2018. Awardees are strongly encouraged to attend this event. A complete application includes:
- A two-page (500-word) application letter detailing the research and how the award will be used towards the research
- A two-page (500-word) curriculum vitae attachment

Proposals will be evaluated based on the following criteria:
- Purpose of the study
- Theoretical framework(s)
- Research questions
- Research methodology
- Importance of the study
- Limitations
- Use of funding
(Maximum two pages, single spaced, Times New Roman 12)

Applications should be addressed to: Chair, NFMLTA–NCOLCTL Graduate Student Dissertation Support Awards, and emailed to

For non-citizen applicants, please confirm with your International Office if you are able to receive grants outside of your campus.

For further information about opportunities focused on the less commonly taught languages, please see the web site of NCOLCTL,

NOTE: Previous awardees cannot apply for this award again.

Applications Deadline: 01-Feb-2018

Web Address for Applications:

Contact Information:
        Savannah Harrison

Page Updated: 05-Jan-2018