LINGUIST List 29.3747

Fri Sep 28 2018

Calls: Cognitive Science/France

Editor for this issue: Everett Green <>

***************** LINGUIST List Support *****************

Fund Drive 2018
28 years of LINGUIST List!
Please support the LL editors and operation with a donation at:

Date: 27-Sep-2018
From: Craig Hamilton <>
Subject: 8th AFLiCo Conference
E-mail this message to a friend

Full Title: 8th AFLiCo Conference
Short Title: AFLiCo 8

Date: 05-Jun-2019 - 07-Jun-2019
Location: Mulhouse, France
Contact Person: Craig Hamilton
Meeting Email: < click here to access email >
Web Site:

Linguistic Field(s): Cognitive Science

Subject Language(s): English

Call Deadline: 01-Dec-2018

Meeting Description:

8th International Conference of the French Association for Cognitive Linguistics (AFLiCo)

AFLiCo 8 - ''Language, Cognition, and Creativity''
University of Haute Alsace, Mulhouse, France
5 June 2019 to 7 June 2019


This will be the 8th biennial international conference of AFLiCo, the French Association for Cognitive Linguistics ( It follows the previous AFLiCo international conferences held in Bordeaux (2005), Lille (2007), Nanterre (2009), Lyon (2011), Lille (2013), Grenoble (2015), and Liege (2017).

Call for Papers:

We welcome 20 minute presentations (with 8 minutes for follow-up questions) from researchers interested in linguistic creativity. Interdisciplinary papers are welcome which address verbal creativity in conversations, humor, written communication, the verbal arts, multimodal forms, gestures, etc. Because creativity is of interest to many different researchers (see scientific statement below), we also welcome papers from those working on creativity in fields such as psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics, corpus linguistics, pragmatics, and psychology. The organizers especially encourage young researchers to submit an abstract. Presentations may be made in French or English.

Submission Procedure:

Abstract submission is to be done via a login on the conference the website. Abstracts will be submitted to double blind review. They should be fully anonymous and not exceed 500 words (references excluded). Indicate if you wish to present a poster or give a paper in the general session.

Important Dates:

Submission deadline: 1 December 2018
Notification of acceptance: 15 January 2019
Conference dates: 5 June 2019 to 7 June 2019
Conference dinner to end the conference: 8 pm - 11 pm, Friday 7 June 2019

Confirmed Keynote Speakers:

Laura Hildalgo Downing (Universidad Autónoma, Madrid)
Andreas Langlotz (University of Basel)
Jeannette Littlemore (University of Birmingham)
Elena Semino (Lancaster University)
Hans-Joerg Schmid (LMU Munich)
Mark Turner (Case Western Reserve University)


Details about the registration procedure, registration deadlines, and local hotels will be posted on the conference website as soon as they become available ( ).. AFLiCo members, students, and early birds will be eligible for reduced registration fees.

Conference Languages:

English and French


We encourage submission of articles based on conference presentations or poster in our on-line peer-reviewed journal CogniTextes, ( ).

Scientifique Committee:

Heike Behrens, University of Basel
Charles Brasart, Université de Nantes
Cristiano Broccias, University of Genoa
Agnes Celle, Université Paris 7
Florence Chenu, Université Lyon 2
Alan Cienki, VU Amsterdam
Gilles Col, Université de Poitiers
Seana Coulson, UC San Diego
Jonathan Culpeper, Lancaster University
Barbara Dancygier, University of British Columbia
Guillaume Desagulier, Université Paris 8
Walter de Mulder, University of Antwerp
Nicole Delbecque, KU Leuven
Jean-Michel Fortis, Université Paris 7
Cécile Frérot, Université Grenoble Alpes
Dirk Geeraerts, KU Leuven
Stefan Th. Gries, UC Santa Barbara
Craig Hamilton, UHA Mulhouse
Randy Harris, University of Waterloo
Lyndon Higgs, Université de Strasbourg
Martin Hilpert, Université de Neuchâtel
Maarten Lemmens, Université Lille 3
Diana Lewis, Université Aix-Marseille
Christian Mair, University of Freiburg
Aliyah Morgenstern, Université Paris 3
Florent Perek, University of Birmingham
Julien Perrez, Université de Liège
Nick Riches, Newcastle University
Caroline Rossi, Université Grenoble Alpes
Sandrine Sorlin, Université Montpellier 3
Paul Sambre, KU Leuven
Natalya Stolova, Colgate University
Sabina Tabacaru, Université Paris 8

Page Updated: 28-Sep-2018