LINGUIST List 29.748

Thu Feb 15 2018

FYI: E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize, 2018: Call

Editor for this issue: Kenneth Steimel <>

Date: 12-Feb-2018
From: Ian Pratt-Hartmann <>
Subject: E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize, 2018: Call
E-mail this message to a friend

Since 2002, FoLLI (the Association for Logic, Language, and Information, has awarded the E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize to outstanding dissertations in the fields of Logic, Language, and Information. We invite submissions for the best dissertation which resulted in a Ph.D. degree awarded in 2017.

Who qualifies:

Nominations of candidates are admitted who were awarded a Ph.D. degree in the areas of Logic, Language, or Information between January 1, 2017 and December 31, 2017. Theses must be written in English; however, the Committee accepts submissions of English translations of theses originally written in other languages, and for which a PhD was awarded in the preceding two years (i.e. between January 1, 2015 and December 31, 2017). There is no restriction on the nationality of the candidate or on the university where the Ph.D. was granted.


The prize consists of:

- A certificate
- A donation of 2500 euros provided by the E.W. Beth Foundation
- An invitation to submit the thesis (or a revised version of it) to the FoLLI Publications on Logic, Language and Information (Springer).

How to submit:

Only electronic submissions are accepted. The following documents are required:

- The thesis in pdf format (ps/doc/rtf not accepted).
- A ten-page abstract of the dissertation in pdf format.
- A letter of nomination from the thesis supervisor (see below).
- Two additional letters of support, including at least one from a referee not affiliated with the academic institution that awarded the Ph.D. degree.

Self-nominations are not admitted: each nomination must be sponsored by the thesis supervisor. The letter of nomination should concisely describe the scope and significance of the dissertation and state when the degree was officially awarded. Nominations should contain the email contact details of the nominator.

All documents must be submitted electronically (preferably as a zip file) to Ian Pratt-Hartmann ( Hard copy submissions are not allowed. In case of any problems with the email submission or a lack of notification within three working days, nominators should write to Ian Pratt-Hartmann.

The prize will be awarded at the ESSLLI summer school in Sofia.

Queries: Ian Pratt-Hartmann (

Important dates:

Deadline for Submissions: April 23, 2018.
Notification of Decision: July 2, 2018.
ESSLLI summer school (Sofia): August 6--17, 2018.


Emmanuel Chemla (ENS, CNRS)
Andrew Fish (University of Brighton)
Sujata Ghosh (Indian Statistical Institute, Chennai)
Nina Gierasimczuk (Technical University of Denmark Copenhagen)
Wesley Holliday (University of California, Berkeley)
Thomas Icard (Stanford University)
Andreas Maletti (Leipzig University)
Angelo Montanari (University of Udine)
Sanjian Li (University of Technology Sydney)
Larry Moss (Indiana University, Bloomington)
Ian Pratt-Hartmann, Chair (University of Manchester)

Linguistic Field(s): Cognitive Science; Computational Linguistics; Discipline of Linguistics; Discourse Analysis; General Linguistics; Language Acquisition; Linguistic Theories; Neurolinguistics; Philosophy of Language; Pragmatics; Psycholinguistics; Semantics; Syntax

Page Updated: 15-Feb-2018