LINGUIST List 30.4509

Wed Nov 27 2019

Summer Schools: 4th Crete Summer School of Linguistics / Greece

Editor for this issue: Sarah Robinson <>

Date: 25-Nov-2019
From: Maria Barouni <>
Subject: 4th Crete Summer School of Linguistics / Greece
E-mail this message to a friend

Host Institution: University of Crete

Dates: 18-Jul-2020 - 31-Jul-2020
Location: Rethymno, Crete, Greece

Focus: CreteLing 2020 focuses on syntax, semantics, pragmatics, phonology, computational phonology, morphology, language acquisition, neurolinguistics, super linguistics, sign language, Austronesian languages, music and language, evolution and language.
Minimum Education Level: Undergraduate

The Division of Linguistics at the University of Crete announces the 4th Crete Summer School in Linguistics.

CreteLing2020 will take place from Saturday, 18 July to Friday, 31 July 2020.

There will be introductory, intermediate and advanced courses in a variety of linguistic subfields.

The instructors in CreteLing2020 are (alphabetical order):

Adam Albright (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Elena Anagnostopoulou (University of Crete)
Athulya Aravind (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Karlos Arregi (University of Chicago)
Ricardo Bermúdez-Otero (University of Manchester)
Rajesh Bhatt (University of Massachusetts)
Cleo Condoravdi (Stanford University)
Regine Eckardt (University of Konstanz)
Donka Farkas (University of California, Santa Cruz)
Kai von Fintel (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Yosef Grodzinsky (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Martin Hackl (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Sabine Iatridou (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Kyle Johnson (University of Massachusetts)
Jonah Katz (West Virginia University)
Paul Kiparsky (Stanford University)
Idan Landau (Ben-Gurion University)
Winfried Lechner (National and Kapodistrian University of Athens)
Shigeru Miyagawa(Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Roumi Pancheva (University of Southern California)
Pritty Patel-Grosz (University of Oslo)
Maria Polinsky (University of Maryland)
Paul Portner (Georgetown University)
Doug Pulleyblank (University of British Columbia)
Josep Quer (Pompeu Fabra University)
Norvin Richards (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Philippe Schlenker (École Normale Supérieure Paris)
Ivy Sichel (University of California, Santa Cruz)
Juliet Stanton (New York University)
Donca Steriade (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Sergei Tatevosov (Lomonosov Moscow State University)
Ian Tattersall (American Museum of Natural History)

Sabine Iatridou (MIT) (
Vina Tsakali (University of Crete) (

Organizing Committee:
Elena Anagnostopoulou (University of Crete) (
Alexis Kalokerinos (University of Crete) (
Ioanna Kappa (University of Crete) (
Winfried Lechner (University of Athens) (

Linguistic Field(s): General Linguistics

Registration: 15-Jan-2020 to 15-May-2020
Contact Person: Maria Barouni

Registration Instructions:
The application interface will open 15 January 2020. Deadline for early application is 5 April 2020. Deadline for late application is 15 May 2020. For general information and inquiries, please contact (Maria Barouni).

Page Updated: 27-Nov-2019