LINGUIST List 31.2485

Thu Aug 06 2020

FYI: Free Online Event: Ask the Authors, Live!

Editor for this issue: Everett Green <everettlinguistlist.org>



Date: 05-Aug-2020
From: Flo McClelland <flomultilingual-matters.com>
Subject: Free Online Event: Ask the Authors, Live!
E-mail this message to a friend

Dear all,

Multilingual Matters are delighted to announce our first ever free online event: Ask the Authors, Live!

On 19th August we’re inviting you to join us on Zoom for a conversation between Nancy H. Hornberger, Wayne E. Wright and some of the authors in their Bilingual Education & Bilingualism series, with time for your questions in a Q&A section at the end!

Time: 1pm Eastern, 12pm Central, 11am Mountain, 10am Pacific
(6pm UK)

The schedule for the event is as follows:

- Welcome and introductions by Flo from Multilingual Matters
- Maria R. Coady speaks about her book, “The Coral Way Bilingual Program”
- Kimberly Adilia Helmer speaks about her book, “Learning and Not Learning in the Heritage Language Classroom”
- Kathryn I. Henderson and Deborah K. Palmer speak about their book, “Dual Language Bilingual Education”
- Discussion between the series editors and all four authors
- Questions from event attendees

Register for the event here: https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_oMccHw7ZQXe6QPufUxx_Mg

Facebook page for the event here: https://www.facebook.com/events/326343671839339/

Wayne E. Wright is Professor and Barbara I. Cook Chair of Literacy and Language, Purdue University, USA. He has published extensively on bilingual education and bilingualism, and is the co-editor of the Journal of Language, Identity, and Education and the Bilingual Education and Bilingualism book series for Multilingual Matters.

Maria R. Coady is Irving and Rose Fien Endowed Professor and Associate Professor of ESOL/Bilingual Education at the University of Florida, USA. Her research specialises in English Language Learners and multilingual students, especially those in rural settings.

Kimberly Adilia Helmer is a Teaching Professor in the Writing Program at the University of California Santa Cruz, USA. Her research interests include Latino/a student engagement in learning and the pedagogies that support that learning; multilingual writers and writing; and English for Academic Purposes.

Kathryn I. Henderson is an Associate Professor of Bicultural-Bilingual Studies in the School of Education at The University of Texas at San Antonio, USA. Her research interests include language ideologies, language policy and dual language bilingual education programs.

Deborah K. Palmer is a Professor of Equity, Bilingualism and Biliteracy in the School of Education at the University of Colorado Boulder, USA. Her research interests include bilingual education policy and politics, critical additive bilingual education, translanguaging, teacher preparation for linguistically/culturally diverse teaching contexts, language, power and identity, and bilingual teacher leadership/agency.

We hope to see you there!


Linguistic Field(s): Applied Linguistics


Page Updated: 06-Aug-2020