LINGUIST List 31.2854

Mon Sep 21 2020

Confs: Syntax/Online

Editor for this issue: Lauren Perkins <laurenlinguistlist.org>



Date: 19-Sep-2020
From: Éva Dékány <dekany.evanytud.hu>
Subject: Secondary Predication Workshop 2020
E-mail this message to a friend

Secondary Predication Workshop 2020

Date: 24-Oct-2020 - 25-Oct-2020
Location: Online, Japan
Contact: Éva Dékány
Contact Email: < click here to access email >
Meeting URL: https://sites.google.com/view/spw-2020/home

Linguistic Field(s): Syntax

Meeting Description:

Predication is the backbone of natural-language syntax and semantics. Secondary predication comes in a wide variety of forms. Early research in theoretical linguistics shows a strong tendency to represent all forms of secondary predication uniformly (Williams 1980). It has become clear in more recent year that generalizations covering the entire spectrum of secondary predication constructions (incl. epistemic constructions, depictives, and resultatives) are less straightforward than previously thought, and that detailed investigation of the various subtypes, in both verbal and nominal environments, is of the essence in building a solid understanding of secondary predication. In this workshop, various problems of secondary predication are approached from new Asian/non-European perspectives, by looking into the details of the facts regarding secondary predication in Asian languages, and often, but not always, through comparisons of Asian languages with other languages or comparisons among Asian languages.

Pre-registration is required. (See the Workshop website for the registration Zoom link, which will be available in early October. The Workshop link will be provided upon pre-registration. There is no registration fee.)

Program Information:

Day 1 (October 24, Saturday):

8:25 - 8:30 (CEST) / 15:25 - 15:30 (JST)
Opening remarks

8:30 - 9:25(CEST) / 15:30 - 16:25 (JST)
Personal-taste secondary predicates: Why they are found in Japanese and not in English
Mikinari Matsuoka (Mie University)

9:30 - 10:25 (CEST) / 16:30 - 17:25 (JST)
Psych-adverbs in Japanese and edge generalization
Kaori Miura (Kyushu Sangyo University)

10:30 - 11:25 (CEST) / 17:30 - 18:25 (JST)
Functional projections for secondary predicates: An observation from Japanese
Masashi Yamaguchi (Kansai Gaidai University)


Day 2 (October 25, Sunday):

7:30 - 8:25 (CET) / 15:30 - 16:25 (JST)
Mandarin secondary predicates and extent of causation
Ryosuke Shibagaki (Rikkyo University)

8:30 - 9:25 (CET) / 16:30 - 17:25 (JST)
Variations of Chinese resultative compounds and their syntax and semantics
Yile Yu (Shiga University) and Hideki Kishimoto (Kobe University)

9:30 - 10:25 (CET) / 17:30 - 18:25 (JST)
Serial verb resultatives
Nobuko Hasegawa (Kanda University of International Studies)

10: 30 - 10:50 (CET) / 18:30 - 18:50 (JST)
General Discussion
Discussants: Marcel den Dikken (Research Institute for Linguistics, HAS), Éva Dékány (Research Institute for Linguistics, HAS),
Masashi Kawashima (Nihon University), Hideki Kishimoto (Kobe University)

10:50 - 10:55 (CET) / 18:50 - 18:55 (JST)
Closing remarks

One presentation includes 40 min. talk + 15 min. Q&A
Schedule times in JST are definite. (Note that CEST ends on October 24.)
CEST (Central European Summer Time), CET (Central European Time), JST (Japan Standard Time)




Page Updated: 21-Sep-2020