LINGUIST List 32.879

Wed Mar 10 2021

FYI: Second Call for Nominations: E. W. Beth Outstanding Dissertation Prize 2021

Editor for this issue: Everett Green <>

Date: 08-Mar-2021
From: Robin Cooper <>
Subject: Second Call for Nominations: E. W. Beth Outstanding Dissertation Prize 2021
E-mail this message to a friend

Since 2002, the Association for Logic, Language, and Information (FoLLI) has been awarding the annual E.W. Beth Dissertation Prize to outstanding Ph.D. dissertations in Logic, Language, and Information (, with financial support of the E.W. Beth Foundation (

In accordance with the aim of the Beth Foundation to continue and extend the work of the Dutch logician Evert Willem Beth, nominations are invited of outstanding dissertations on topics in the broad remit of ESSLLI, including current topics in philosophical and mathematical logic, computer science logic, philosophy of science, philosophy of language, history of logic, history of the philosophy of science and scientific philosophy in general, as well as the current theoretical and foundational developments in information and computation, language, and cognition. Dissertations with results more broadly impacting various research areas in their interdisciplinary investigations are especially solicited.

Nominations should be for dissertations resulting in a Ph.D. degree awarded in 2020.

For detailed information on topics, eligibility, and how to apply, see or the full call. All documents must be submitted electronically, as one zip file, via EasyChair by following the link In case of any problems or questions contact Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh (

The prize will be awarded by the chair of the FoLLI board at a ceremony during the 32nd ESSLLI summer school, which will be based in Utrecht, but held online August 2-13, 2021.

Beth dissertation prize committee 2021:

Samson Abramsky (University of Oxford)
Maria Aloni (University of Amsterdam)
Cleo Condoravdi(Stanford University)
Robin Cooper (University of Gothenburg)
Guy Emerson (University of Cambridge)
Katrin Erk (University of Texas at Austin)
Sujata Ghosh (ISI, Chennai)
Davide Grossi (Universities of Groningen and Amsterdam)
Christoph Haase (University of Oxford)
Louise McNally (Universitat Pompeu Fabra Barcelona)
Reinhard Muskens (University of Amsterdam)
Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh (University College London, chair)
Mark Steedman (University of Edinburgh)
Matthew Stone (Rutgers University)
Jouko Vaananen (University of Helsinki and University of Amsterdam)

FoLLI is committed to diversity and inclusion and we welcome dissertations from all under-represented groups.

Linguistic Field(s): Applied Linguistics; Cognitive Science; Computational Linguistics; General Linguistics; Philosophy of Language

Page Updated: 10-Mar-2021