LINGUIST List 32.1093

Fri Mar 26 2021

FYI: Free Online Event: Ask the Authors, Live!

Editor for this issue: Everett Green <everettlinguistlist.org>



Date: 25-Mar-2021
From: Flo McClelland <flomultilingual-matters.com>
Subject: Free Online Event: Ask the Authors, Live!
E-mail this message to a friend

We are delighted to invite you to Multilingual Matters' free online event: Ask the Authors, Live!

On 1st April Nancy H. Hornberger and Wayne E. Wright, series editors of our Bilingual Education & Bilingualism series, talk to authors Nelson Flores, María Cioè-Peña and Brian David Seilstad about their recent publications:

Bilingualism for All?
(M)othering Labeled Children
Educating Adolescent Newcomers in the Superdiverse Midwest

Audience questions are welcomed!

Time:
12pm Pacific
1pm Mountain
2pm Central
3pm Eastern
8pm UK
8pm Morocco
And in your equivalent local time

Register for the event here: https://zoom.us/webinar/register/4616159960359/WN_fmA_wpDsS6CX4Tcov0bLrg

For those who can’t join live, the event will be recorded so you can watch afterwards.

Nancy H. Hornberger is Professor Emerita of Education at the University of Pennsylvania, USA. She is an educational linguist and anthropologist researching, publishing and consulting widely on multilingual language education policy and practice in immigrant and Indigenous communities. She is co-editor of the Bilingual Education and Bilingualism book series for Multilingual Matters.

Wayne E. Wright is an Associate Dean, Professor, and the Barbara I. Cook Chair of Literacy and Language at Purdue University, USA. He has over 100 research publications, and is the author of a bestselling book on teaching English language learners. He is the co-editor of the Journal of Language, Identity, and Education and co-editor of the Bilingual Education and Bilingualism book series for Multilingual Matters.

Nelson Flores is co-editor of ''Bilingualism for All?'' and Associate Professor of Educational Linguistics at the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education, USA. His current projects seek to apply a raciolinguistic perspective to bilingual education in the United States.

María Cioè-Peña is author of ''M)othering Labeled Children'' and Assistant Professor at Montclair State University, USA. Her research interests are deeply rooted in political economy, raciolinguistic perspectives and critical dis/ability awareness within schools and families, and encompass bilingual children with dis/abilities, their families and their ability to access multilingual and inclusive learning spaces within public schools.

Brian David Seilstad is author of ''Educating Adolescent Newcomers in the Superdiverse Midwest'' and Dean of Global Engagement at American Academy of Casablanca, Morocco. His research focuses on the fields of service-learning, language education, and the educational intersections of culture, migration and society.


Linguistic Field(s): Applied Linguistics; Sociolinguistics


Page Updated: 26-Mar-2021