LINGUIST List 32.3126

Mon Oct 04 2021

Confs: Morphology, Semantics, Syntax/Japan

Editor for this issue: Everett Green <everettlinguistlist.org>



Date: 01-Oct-2021
From: Éva Dékány <dekany.evanytud.mta.hu>
Subject: International Workshop on Secondary Predication 2021
E-mail this message to a friend

International Workshop on Secondary Predication 2021

Date: 30-Oct-2021 - 31-Oct-2021
Location: Tokyo (or online), Japan
Contact: Masashi Kawashima
Contact Email: < click here to access email >
Meeting URL: https://sites.google.com/view/iwsp2021/call-for-papers

Linguistic Field(s): Morphology; Semantics; Syntax

Meeting Description:

Predication is the backbone of natural-language syntax and semantics. Secondary predication comes in a wide variety of forms. Early research in theoretical linguistics shows a strong tendency to represent all forms of secondary predication uniformly (Williams 1980). It has become clear in more recent years that generalizations covering the entire spectrum of secondary predication constructions (including epistemic constructions, depictives, and resultatives) are less straightforward than previously thought, and that detailed investigation of the various subtypes, in both verbal and nominal environments, is of the essence in building a solid understanding of secondary predication. In this workshop, researchers from all corners of the world are expected to share their expertise, raise issues on various aspects of secondary predication, and provide solutions from new perspectives by looking into the details of the facts regarding secondary predication in the target language(s) of investigation, and/or through cross-linguistic comparisons with other related or unrelated languages.

Keynote Speakers:
Marcel den Dikken and Éva Dékány (Hungarian Research Centre for Linguistics, Budapest)
Hideki Kishimoto (Kobe University)

Venue:
The workshop has been shifted to the virtual conference on-line (details TBA).
If the situation allows, we will hold a hybrid meeting (online + physical conference at Courtyard by Marriot Tokyo Station, Tokyo, Japan). (See the conference web page for updates.)

Program:

This workshop will be a hybrid meeting (online + physical conference at Courtyard by Marriot Tokyo Station, Tokyo). The physical workshop venue is open only to the domestic audience due to the current COVID-19 situation.

Advance registration is required. (No registration fee)
For online attendance, register at:
https://nihon-u-ac-jp.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZYrdO6opzstHNSe5TdRw-7Vw-yUJUNISOd0

Meeting URL: https://sites.google.com/view/iwsp2021/home?authuser=0

*Day 1 (October 30, Saturday)*
7:55–8:00 (CEST) / 14:55–15:00 (JST):
Opening remarks

8:00–9:00 (CEST) / 15:00–16:00 (JST):
Keynote Speech. On the internal and external syntax of depective secondary predication
Marcel den Dikken and Éva Dékány (Hungarian Research Centre for Linguistics, Budapest)

9:15-9:45 (CEST) / 16:15-16:45 (JST):
Aspectual consecutio of Spanish depictives in non-verbal environments.
Federico Silvagni (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)

9:50–10:20 (CEST) / 16:50–17:20 (JST):
The syntax and semantics of indirect predication in French
Lieven Danckaert and Fayssal Tayalati (University of Lille)

10:25–10:55 (CEST) / 17:25–17:55 (JST):
On a parametric variation of functional projections for resultatives: An account of the (un)availability of strong resultatives in English and Japanese
Masashi Yamaguchi (Kansai Gaidai University)

11:00–11:30 (CEST) / 18:00–18:30 (JST):
Resultatives and low depictives in English: A syntactic approach to the Unique Path Constraint
Josep Ausensi and Alessandro Bigolin (Universitat Pompeu Fabra)


*Day 2 (October 31, Sunday)*
7:30–8:30 (CET) / 15:30–16:30 (JST):
Keynote Speech: The syntactic forms of secondary predicates: A view from Japanese
Hideki Kishimoto (Kobe University)

8:45–9:15 (CET) / 16:45–17:15 (JST):
Revisiting event lexicalization in Hungarian: Constraints on the encoding of Path/Res in verbal particles and resultative PPs
Éva Kardos and Andrea Szávó (University of Debrecen)

9:20–9:50 (CET) / 17:20–17:50 (JST):
Precise standards license adjectives in the English resultative construction
Cass M Kramer (Stanford University)

9:55–10:25 (CET) / 17:55–18:25 (JST):
(Re)sultatives
Michael Wilson and Tom Roeper (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)

10:30–11:00 (CET) / 18:30–19:00 (JST):
A semantic typology of resultative predicates
Naoyuki Ono (Tohoku University)

11:05–11:35 (CET) / 19:05–19:35 (JST):
General discussion
Discussants:
Marcel den Dikken (Hungarian Research Centre for Linguistics, Budapest)
Éva Dékány (Hungarian Research Centre for Linguistics, Budapest)
Hideki Kishimoto (Kobe University)
Masashi Kawashima (Nihon University)

11:35–11:40 (CET) / 19:35–19:40 (JST):
Closing remarks


One keynote speech includes 50 min. talk + 10 min. Q&A
One presentation includes 25 min. talk + 5 min. Q&A
CEST (Central European Summer Time), CET (Central European Time), JST (Japan Standard Time)
Schedule times in JST are definite. (Note that CEST ends on October 30.)

If you have question(s), contact
kawashima.masashinihon-u.ac.jp




Page Updated: 04-Oct-2021