LINGUIST List 32.3180

Sat Oct 09 2021

FYI: 10/20 Webinar (free): Documenting Indigenous Languages. A Conversation About Writing, Publishing, and Working with Grammars

Editor for this issue: Everett Green <everettlinguistlist.org>



Date: 07-Oct-2021
From: Birgit Sievert <sievertdegruyter.com>
Subject: 10/20 Webinar (free): Documenting Indigenous Languages. A Conversation About Writing, Publishing, and Working with Grammars
E-mail this message to a friend

Webinar: Documenting Indigenous Languages. A Conversation About Writing, Publishing, and Working with Grammars

Join us on Zoom on October 20 at 12 noon EDT (18:00 CET, 4pm GMT)
register (for free) here: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/1316335467789/WN_CfKgBzKxTfKz-FZkP3EohA

What do we need to do to make language description and documentation accessible and useful for language communities, researchers, future audiences and technologies? Which audiences are usually reached by grammars and to what extent can a grammar be presented accessibly to multiple audiences?

This webinar shines a spotlight on modern language documentation by inviting the perspectives of an author and editor, a scholar and teacher, a librarian, and a publisher. Join the conversation with researchers and authors Patience Epps, B’alam Mateo Toledo, and Roberto Zariquiey, editor Birgit Sievert, librarian Susan Gehr, and moderator Todd Bludeau on October 20th at 12 noon EDT on Zoom. With our discussion we hope to provide participating researchers, authors, and librarians with new perspectives for their own work in making language documentation available and accessible to their communities.



Linguistic Field(s): Language Documentation


Page Updated: 09-Oct-2021