LINGUIST List 32.674

Tue Feb 23 2021

Calls: Gen Ling/Online

Editor for this issue: Lauren Perkins <laurenlinguistlist.org>



Date: 23-Feb-2021
From: Elizabeth McCullough <eamcculloughgmail.com>
Subject: International Conference on Linguistics Communication
E-mail this message to a friend

Full Title: International Conference on Linguistics Communication
Short Title: LingComm21

Date: 19-Apr-2021 - 23-Apr-2021
Location: Online, Antarctica
Contact Person: Elizabeth McCullough
Meeting Email: < click here to access email >
Web Site: https://lingcomm.org/conference/

Linguistic Field(s): General Linguistics

Call Deadline: 19-Mar-2021

Meeting Description:

The International Conference on Linguistics Communication (LingComm21) brings together lingcommers from a variety of backgrounds, including linguists who have developed skills in communicating with public audiences and communicators who have developed a ''beat'' related to language.

Taking advantage of a digital-first format to bring together lingcommers from around the world, LingComm21 is a small, highly interactive conference featuring a mix of beginner and advanced panels on specific areas of lingcomm, as well as smaller special sessions emerging from the shared interests of attendees.

Confirmed invited speakers (so far):
-Kate Burridge, Monash University
-Nicole Holliday, University of Pennsylvania
-Ben Zimmer, The Wall Street Journal
-Megan Figueroa and Carrie Gillon, Vocal Fries
-Lane Greene, The Economist
-Mignon Fogarty, Grammar Girl
-Daniel Midgely, Because Language
-Grant Barrett, A Way with Words
-Helen Zaltzman, The Allusionist
-Kory Stamper, Word by Word
-Erin McKean, Wordnik

Announcement:

For much of the world, the conference will run April 19-22, in a single four-hour block each day beginning at UTC 20:00. That’s beginning at 10am in Honolulu, 1pm in Seattle, 4pm in Montreal, 9pm in London, and 10pm in Paris. For those on the leading edge of time zones, the conference will run April 20-23, beginning at 6am in Melbourne and 8am in Auckland.

The conference will be held in a custom space on Gather, a proximity chat platform which lets participants wander around and chat in spontaneous small groups between sessions, and which includes a virtual coffee shop and pub for off-hours and informal meetups. Tell us which topics you can speak to, and we’ll match you with co-panelists who share your interests.

To express your interest in participating, please complete our form by March 19, 2021:
https://lingcomm.org/conference/participate/




Page Updated: 23-Feb-2021